World 3: Open Iconology Call for Contribution

World 3 is an annually published academic journal organized by OCAT Institute. Taking art history as its basic orientation while exploring points of connectivity in other disciplines, the journal features original publications and Chinese translations of innovative thematic research in art history and theory, and in other relevant fields such as cultural, social, and intellectual history, the history of linguistics, psychology, philosophy, and religion. Other sections include review and commentary on associated international events, publications, exhibitions, and research institutions. The series offers a publishing platform for the research outcomes in related fields, and strives for conditions that cultivate new modalities of thinking and epistemology in Chinese scholarship. 


World 3 as the core publication of OCAT Institute was launched in 2014. It is printed in color and annually released in December.
 
World 3 is pleased to announce its 2015 annual theme as Open Iconology.
 
As an art-historical method devoted to analyzing the mechanisms of meaning in the work of art, iconology emerged as an open-ended methodology through the succesive endeavors of three doyens in art history: Aby Warburg, Erwin Panofsky, and Ernst Gombrich. Aby Warburg and other members of the Hamburg school laid foundation for art history as a humanist discipline by basing their methodological framework on the interdisciplinary breadth of Kulturwissenschaft. With his profound and sweeping historical vision and rigorous intellectual inquiry, Erwin Panofsky established iconology’s lasting contribution to humanities, one that is no less brilliant than contributions from other disciplines. Further along the lineage, Ernst Gombrich’s critical studies brought iconology to a state of unprecedented openness, drawing increasing scholarly attention to its theories and practices.
 
Today, the connectivity and openness of iconology continue to nourish the disciplines of philosophy, history, literature, religious studies, psychology, politics, cultural studies and a variety of visual theories, not to mention the exciting shifts since New Art History in the 1980s. World 3: The Open Iconology proposes to investigate the theoretical lineage of iconology as a modern methodology and its interdisciplinary impact, to showcase the potential prospects of iconology in contemporary research on art history, and to call for an open, critical attitude toward research. 
 
Submission Guidelines 
I. Overview
World 3 includes the following sections:“New Studies in the History of Art”, “Theory and Criticism”, “Project Updates”, “Institutional Profiles”, “Book Reviews”:
1. New Studies in the History of Art is the central component of the journal. It includes research on theories and methodologies in the history of fine art, architecture, film, and design, as well as other relevant fields such as cultural, social, and intellectual history, the history of linguistics, psychology, philosophy, and religion. Each issue features three to five articles. Manuscripts should not exceed 10,000 words; extended thematic research should not exceed 20,000 words. 
2.Theory and Criticism introduces recent theoretical inquiries and emphasizes their relevance for the discipline of art history.
3.Project Updates offers overviews on the history and status quo of key research fields, as well as commentaries and reports on major scholars, academic activities, conferences, publications, and exhibitions. At least one article will be included per issue, with a maximum length of 5000 words.
4.Institutional Profiles gives brief introduction to world-renowned research institutes in art history and their research projects. One article will be included per issue, with a maximum length of 10,000 words.
5. Book Reviews provides reviews on scholarly research, journals, and research-based exhibitions whose influence, innovation, and unique vision have made an impact in the discipline. Each issue may attach a bibliographic index of related academic works. At least four reviews will be published per issue, with a maximum length of 5,000 words.
 
II. Submission Guidelines
1. All manuscripts should clearly identify the section for which the author wishes to submit the work.
2. All authors, including co-authors, are regarded as full copyright owner of their manuscript.
3. All manuscripts must include title, abstract (300 words) and keywords (3-8 words), in both Chinese and English. Authors writing in any language other than Chinese are not subject to this requirement.
4. All authors should submit alongside the article, a short biography (100 words), contact information and address in a separate word document (manuscripts are reviewed anonymously).
5. Style:
    (1) Please include page number and use footnotes.
    (2) Please follow footnote format in Lishi yanjiu (Historical Research).
6. All authors should ensure the rights of all illustrations included in the manuscripts. Maximum 6 images each manuscript (with specified exceptions). Authors should indicate the corresponding place in text (if applies) for each illustration, and should include its title, maker, material, period, sources (if applies). Each image should meet optimal printing standards (for example, 300 dpi and above).
7. All manuscripts should be submitted electronically, with texts in word files, images in jpeg files. For editing and proofreading purposes, a PDF copy is required alongside the word file if articles include special foreign words or symbols. Deadline for submission is the end of July for the issue of the same year.
8. Please send manuscript to: 
world3journal@ocatinstitute.org.cn (World 3 Editorial Department, OCAT Institute)
 
III. Evaluation Procedure
1. All manuscripts are reviewed by the Editor-in-chief for initial examination.
2. Qualified manuscripts will be passed on for further anonymous review by the Editorial Committee (at least 2 committee members).
3. Official acceptance notification will be issued no later than August each year.
4. Manuscripts can NOT be submitted to more than one journals. Please do not publish articles on such platforms such as Weibo, WeChat before print.
5. Editors will make necessary revisions and corrections of accepted manuscripts in accordance with  publication protocol.
(Discussions will be made with authors under special situations.)


IV. Payment and Volume Copy
1. Different levels of compensation are applied to different editorical sections.
2. Payment will be made within the month of the publication of the journal (every December).
3. Authors will receive two copies of the published journal.
 

World 3, Editorial Department






姓名

立即订阅

《世界3:开放的图像学》征稿启事

《世界3》是由OCAT研究中心(OCAT Institute)组织编辑、由岭南美术出版社出版的中文艺术史理论丛书,主要登载艺术史理论及与其相关的语言史、心理学史、哲学史、文化史、宗教史、社会史和思想史的前沿性研究课题和译文,也对相关课题的国际资讯、图书、展览和研究机构进行报道与评介。丛书将通过为这一学术领域的研究成果提供出版平台,力图为这一领域新的汉语思想模式和知识形式的形成创造条件。

《世界3》是OCAT研究中心的核心出版物,2014年创办,彩色印刷,每年冬季12月出版。

2015年《世界3》将以“开放的图像学”作为专题。

现代图像学由于瓦尔堡、潘诺夫斯基和贡布里希三位艺术史大师的努力而成为一门开放性的学科方法,瓦尔堡和他的学派成员通过将图像解释的基础建立在文化一科学的广阔维度上而奠定了艺术史作为一门人文科学的地位;潘诺夫斯基通过他深渊宽广的历史观念与严密睿智的学识境界,使图像学获得与其他人文学科相比毫不逊色的卓越成就,而贡布里希则通过对图像学的批判性研究将图像学带入到一个更加令人神往的开放领域。

今天无论是哲学、史学、文学、宗教神学、心理学、政治学、文化研究和各种形式的视觉理论都能从这种开放性中获益,更不用说纷繁的“新艺术史”方法。《世界3:开放的图像学》力图通过梳理现代图像学的理论脉络和它的开放性影响,展示图像学在当代艺术史学中的可能性前景并借此提倡一种建立在理性批评基础上的开放学风。




《世界3》稿件要求

 

一、主要栏目介绍 

《世界3》的主要栏目有“专题研究”、“理论焦点”、“前沿动态”、“机构概览”和“书评”等:

1.“专题研究”是丛书的核心栏目,刊登美术史、建筑史、影像史、设计史为主体的艺术史理论和方法及与其相关的语言史、心理学史、哲学史、文化史、宗教史、社会史和思想史的研究论文和译文。每集3至5篇,每篇以10000字为限(重大课题论文以20000字为限);

2.“理论焦点”是介绍世界当下重要的理论动向与理论研究,并突出其与艺术史研究的相互借鉴意义。每集不少于1篇,每篇以5000至10000字为限;

3.“前沿动态”是丛书的综述性栏目,主要综述报导上述领域中重大课题的历史和现状,评论性报导年度内重大学术活动、人物、会议、出版、展览的现场。每集不少于2篇,毎篇以5000字为限;

4.“机构概览”是介绍世界代表性的艺术史研究机构的概况及研究主题为主。每集1篇,每篇以10000字为限;

5.“书评”是推介前述学术领域具有重大学术影响、前沿位置和独特方法的著作、学术期刊和学术展览的专栏性评论文章。每集可附相关学科研究性的书目索引。毎集不少于4篇,每篇以5000字为限。

 

二、投稿要求 

1. 所有稿件需注明投稿的栏目名称;

2. 所有稿件的作者(含联合作者)视为稿件完整版权的拥有者;

3. 所有稿件都需要提供该稿件的中英文标题、中英文提要(300字内)、稿件关键词(3-8个),外文作者无须提供要求的中文信息;

4. 作者中文学术简历(100字内)、通信及地址联络信息,请另外单独word文件提交(稿件匿名评审);

5. 稿件体例:

(1)稿件每页进行编号,采用脚注;

(2)注释说明(参考《历史研究》)。

6. 所有稿件提供的配图都将视为作者即同时拥有版权,每篇文章的配图不多于6幅(特殊稿件除外);每幅配图需注明与文字版面相对应的图片位置(如有)、图片题目、图片作者、图片作品的材质、图片作品创作年代、图片版权来源(如有),每幅配图的大小、质量均需符合印刷标准(如300dpi或以上);

7. 所有稿件一律提交电子版本,文字使用word文本,配图使用jpeg格式,稿件中凡涉及特殊的外文文字、字符等稿件,一并提交一份PDF版本文件,以便编辑、校对,当年度7月底截稿;

8. 所有稿件请以电子邮件发送至:

world3journal@ocatinstitute.org.cnOCAT研究中心《世界3》收。

 

三、稿件评审

1. 所有稿件提交主编审核;

2. 主编审核通过后的稿件,交由编委会(不少于2名编委)匿名评审;

3. 所有稿件的采用通知,不迟于当年度8月底;

4. 所有稿件不得一稿多投,稿件在采用前请勿以微博、微信等电子文件形式发表;

5. 所有采用的稿件,编辑都有根据出版规范进行修改的权力。

  (特殊情况和作者协商)

 

四、稿费支付及赠送样刊 

1.《世界3》不同栏目支付的稿费标准不同;

2.所有稿费的支付于出书当月内(每年度12月)完成支付;

3.每位作者均会赠送2册样书。

                                                                             《世界3》编辑部

 

 

姓名

立即订阅