World 3 Book Series General Preface

World 3 Book Series   General Preface

by Huang Zhuan

 

We decided to create a book series dedicated to the discussion of art historical theories, thoughts and methodologies. We are conscious of the double risks involved: firstly due to the status quo of this discipline, secondly, needless to explanation, due to our knowledge and capabilities, so I will only elaborate on the former. The modern art history as a discipline originated in 18th century Germany, with the publication of Winckelmann’s The History of Art in Antiquity in 1764 if it has to be located exactly in historical timeline. This history-related discipline of image interpretation was born in a period when Enlightenment and Scientism had just risen. Not until a century later did it evolve its own schools and methodologies. Through the contribution of masters such as Burckhardt, Wölfflin, Riegl, Dvořák, Warburg, Panofsky and Gombrich, art history witnessed a climax and brought forth great honor and brilliance to humanities. Today, art history is at a crossroad in its history. Partly because of the innovative movements in modern art, art history transfers its subject from the classical to the contemporary world, posing challenges on its history concepts, knowledge forms, methodologies and research boundaries. Interior form, style and image meaning, key to classical art history, continued exteriorizing to foreign fields such as sociology, politics and ideology. Today, even the concept of “art” itself becomes more and more blurred. Meanwhile, knowledge movements of post-war deconstruction and studies on new media (information technology, cybernetics, especially digital media ) and the immediately related “visual culture” are posing challenges to the tradition of Western humanities, also making exterior impacts on the development of art history. These impacts and challenges confront, since the birth of art history, with its most fundamental crisis, symptomized and answered by various forms of “new art history” and “termination theories” about art history. The “termination theories” point to not only the existing models and principles in art history, but also art history per se in the form of logical memory of human race, hence they bring forth a crisis that threats not only the institution and form of art history, but also its legitimacy as a discipline of humanities.

 

Like other categories of history, art history derives from logical memory of human race, and is a main form of this memory mechanism.“Learning without thought means labour lost; thought without learning is perilous.”(quoted from The Analects of Confucius), comparing this ancient teaching to art history, we might say it is a discipline of both knowledge from memory, and thoughts, ideas and methodologies. More importantly, it is an inter-disciplinary humanistic discipline that, since its birth, has been intricately related to other humanistic disciplines: religion, philosophy, politics, linguistics, psychology, anthropology and archaeology, they more or less kept genetic relations to the origin and development of art history. The “integrity of civilization” intrinsic of art history research, wisely discovered by Warburg, decides that it is inter-disciplinary by nature, not by choice. We believe that art history, like all other scientific existence, lives and thrives on critical reflection and open discussion, and it is this rational power that World 3 tries to exhibit and propel. As a theoretical book series, it hopes for an open and rational environment for discussing problems concerning the crisis and development of art history, for example, the “classical” legacy of art history research, the scope of art history documentation and acquisition methods, difference and relation between classical and contemporary art history research, historical thoughts, theoretical schemes and methodologies in art history research, relevant policies, publications and exhibitions, art history’s boundaries as well as its complex but organic relation with other humanistic disciplines. It will also include all topics involved in classic and new art history. To summarize, it is a self-reflective publication of the history of art history, or to put it in another way, a book series on the historiography of art history.

 

Of course, we are more concerned with the destiny and reality of art history in China. Like all the other modern academic disciplines that first entered China in the beginning of the 20th century, art history experienced waxed and waned with the country’s civil wars, political movements and enlightenment. Promoted by pioneers such as Wang Guowei, Liang Qichao and Gu Jiegang, practiced by such art historians as Jiang Danshu, Lü Cheng, Chen Shizeng, Teng Gu, Yu Shaosong, Yu Jianhua, art history had brilliant beginnings in China’s recent academic history. During nearly a century that followed, China also witnessed several generations of art historians of distinguished moral and academic qualities, who served as the direct force for the existence and development of the discipline. Yet frankly speaking, no matter ancient or modern research, Chinese art history still lags in a preliminary state in terms of documentation studies, consciousness to problems, methodologies, and especially, understanding of the “uniqueness ” of Chinese art history. Chinese art has its independent characters and history, which naturally call for independent research methods and routes. Even as a modern historical science, its uniqueness can not be ignored. It should be sought after, rather than sacrificed by Chinese art history researchers. From Sinology to Chinese Studies, the historical academic environment overseas cultivated generations of Chinese art historians, they served as a bridge for communications between Western art history and Chinese art history, as well as a natural part of Chinese art history research. Sadly, the exchanges and collaborations between domestic and overseas academias are scarcely resultful. More importantly, the two parties are yet to develop common interests in discussing academic problems, methodologies and prospects when faced with the common crisis in art history. A tool shared by all world is knowledge, we hope that our book series can also contribute its limited power in promoting the exchanges in art history between China and foreign counties, and in turn, promote the academic advancements of Chinese art history. 

 

This book series caters to readers who believe in the power of knowledge and rational critical power in changing our world, especially those hoping to develop such power form art historical research and thinking.

 

World 3 is a concept proposed 40 years ago by British philosopher Karl Popper in his famous work Objective Knowledge, it refers to a world of knowledge produced by human history and act on knowledge recreation, a world of thought, language, art, philosophy, religion, social institution and law which are coded and preserved in material forms in our mind, books, machines and images. Popper believes that human being progresses through a complex procedure of reactions between biology and society, during which the dominating mechanism is that the subjective mental world (World 2) acts on the natural world (World 1) through World 3. As a mediator, World 3 possesses both subjective and objective characters. To summarize, it is an artificial world of objective knowledge independent of human being. This theory liberates us from such deity realms as God and “thing-in-itself”, and explains the mechanism of how human create themselves and keep progressing, that is, the mechanism of finding problems and solutions through mistakes.

 

World 3 is an academic book series whose object is art historical theories and thoughts. Citing the concept of World 3, it shows its academic attitude and interests: researching the origin, status quo, development and methodology of arthistory under open relations to other members of World 3. World 3 dedicates to not only the research of all fields within art history, for example, theoretical studies on fine art history, architectural history, cinema history, design historyand their relations, but also theoretical studies on the relations between art history and history of culture, philosophy, religion, linguistics, ideology and thoughts. World 3 maintains an open, tolerant attitude toward various idea forms and methodologies, it believes that the field of theoretical research is the same as other fields of human life: only by keeping a rational critical attitudes can problems really be solved, knowledge be increased and progress be achieved.

 

Research means to search, we hope to embark on the road of searching alongside all art history researchers.

 

October, 2014











姓名

立即订阅

《世界3》丛书 总序

文/黄专
 

我们决心创办一套以探讨艺术史理论、观念和方法为宗旨的丛书,我们知道我们的选择是一种双重冒险,一是因为这门学科的知识状况,二是因为我们的学识和能力,后者无需解释,所以我们只谈谈前者。现代学科意义上的艺术史发端于18世纪的徳国,如果需要给出一个准确的时间座标,那就是温克尔曼1764年出版的《古代艺术史》。这门以解释艺术图像为己任的历史科学诞生在启蒙主义和科学主义在西方刚刚兴起的时代,但真正形成自己独立的学派和研究方法则要等到差不多一个世纪之后,通过布克哈特、沃尔夫林、李格尔、徳沃夏克、瓦尔堡、潘诺夫斯基、贡布里希这些巨匠的努力,艺术史才达到了它自有史以来的一个高峰,也为人文学科带来了巨大的荣耀和光辉。今天,艺术史正处于它历史发展中的一个十字路口,这一方面根源于现代艺术中的各种创新运动,当艺术史将它的对象从古典世界转向当代世界时,它就会发现无论从历史观念、知识形式还是研究方法、研究边界上,艺术史都开始面临着来自研究对象自身的挑战,那些维系古典艺术史研究的内在形式丶作品风格和图像意义不断外化为社会、政治、意识形态等外在范畴,现在,甚至连“艺术”这个概念本身也变得越来越似是而非。另一方面,战后各种解构主义的知识运动和新媒体(信息技术、控制论、尤其是数码媒体)以及与之密切相关的“视觉文化”研究(visual culture)在挑战西方人文主义的学术传统的同时,也直接形成了对艺术史发展的外来冲击,这些冲击和挑战使艺术史学面临着自它诞生以来的一次最深刻的知识危机,各种形式的“新艺术史”和艺术史“终结论”既是对这种危机的回应也是它的主要表征。“终结论”针对的不仅仅是艺术史已有的范式和准则,而是作为人类理性记忆形式的“艺术史”本身;它所带来的危机因此也不仅仅是学科制度和学科形式的危机,而是艺术史作为一门人文科学存在的合法性危机。


和其他门类的历史学一样,艺术史是人类理性记忆的需要,也是这种记忆机制的一种主要形式,“学而不思则罔,思而不学则殆”(《论语•为政》),如果我们把这句古训用来比喻我们的艺术史学,那我们就可以说它既是一门关于记忆知识的科学,也是一门关于观念、思想和方法的科学,更重要的,它是一门交叉性的人文科学,自诞生之日起,艺术史的命运就与人类其它学科的发展息息相关:宗教、哲学、政治学、语言学、心理学、人类学、考古学几乎都或多或少地与艺术史这门学科的起源和发展保持某种亲缘关系,艺术史的研究具有瓦尔堡睿智地发现的那种“文明的整体性”,所以,跨界不是这门学科的需要而是它的一个显著特征。我们相信,和所有科学形式一样,批判性的反思和开放性的讨论也是艺术史继续生存和发展的最直接的动力,《世界3》所力图展示和推动的就是这种理性力量,作为一套理论丛书,它希望在一种开放的理论气氛中讨论与艺术史的当代危机和发展相关的所有问题:艺术史研究中的古典遗产;艺术史的文献学范围及釆集方法;古典艺术史与当代艺术史研究的不同特质和关系;艺术史研究的各种历史观念、理论方案和具体方法;与艺术史研究相关的制度、出版和展览;艺术史的学科边界以及它与其它人文学科复杂而有机的关系,它也将包容经典艺术史和新艺术史所能涉及的所有课题。简言之,这套丛书是关于艺术史自己历史的反思性刊物,或者说,是一套艺术史学史丛书。


当然,我们更关心的是艺术史在中国的命运和现实。20世纪初,艺术史学就成为最早进入中国的现代学术的一种,它的命运也与大多数其它现代学术在中国近现代的命运一样,一直伴随着民族战争、政治运动和启蒙思潮而不断沉浮。在王国维、梁启超、顾颉刚这样一些现代学术先驱的倡导下,在姜丹书、吕澂、陈师曾、滕固、余绍宋、俞剑华这样一些艺术史学者的艰苦实践中,艺术史在中国现代学术史上也曾有过卓越的开端,而在以后将近一个多世纪的历史中,中国也出现了几代具有卓尔不群的思想品质和学术素养的艺术史家,他们是这门人文科学在中国生存和发展的直接动力。但坦诚而言,无论是古代研究还是当代研究,作为一门历史科学,中国艺术史在文献整理、问题意识、研究方法,尤其是对中国艺术“独特性”的理解上都还处于初级阶段。中国艺术有其独立的品质和历史,也自当有其独立的研究方法和路径,即使作为一门现代科学我们也无法忽略这种独特性,中国艺术史研究者应该在现代学术环境和研究方法中去发现这种独特性而不是削足适履。海外从“汉学”(Sinology)到“中国研究”(Chinese studies)的学术史环境也成就了一批批卓越的中国艺术史家,他们不仅是沟通西方艺术史传统与中国艺术史的桥梁,也是中国艺术史研究的一个当然部分。但可惜的是,直到今天在中国艺术史研究领域本土和海外两股学术力量的沟通和合作的成果还乏善可陈。更重要的是,在面对艺术史的共同危机时,这样两种力量还没有展现出对探讨学科问题、学科方法和学科前景的共同兴趣,学术乃天下之公器,我们的丛书也希望在推动艺术史领域的中外交流进而推动中国艺术史学的学术进步上略尽绵力。


这套丛书是为那些相信知识和理性的批判力量可以改变我们世界的读者准备的,尤其是为那些希望在艺术史的研究和思考中获得这种力量的人准备的。


“世界3”是英国哲学家卡尔·波普尔40年前在他的哲学名著《客观知识》中提出来的概念,它是指由人在历史中创造出来又作用于人的再创造的知识世界,它是以物质形态编制和保存于我们的大脑、书籍、机器、图像之中的观念、语言、艺术、哲学、宗教、制度、法律的世界。波普尔认为,人类的进步是一个复杂的生物和社会反馈过程,这一过程的支配性机制是,人的主观精神世界(世界2)通过“世界3”作用于自然世界(世界1),作为中介的“世界3”具有主观性和客观性的双重品质。简言之,它是人造的而又独立于人的客观知识世界。这个理论不仅把我们从上帝和“自在之物”这类神性世界的范畴中解放出来,而且解释了人如何自己创造自己并且不断进步的历史机制,即一种通过“世界3”寻找问题和试错性解决问题的机制。


《世界3》是一套以艺术史理论与观念为对象的中文学术丛书,丛书名援引“世界3”这个概念表明了它的学术态度和志趣,即它希望在与其他“世界3”成员的开放性关系中研究艺术史的起源、现状、发展和方法。《世界3》不仅致力于艺术史内部各领域的研究,如美术史、建筑史、影像史、设计史及它们之间关系的理论研究,还致力于艺术史与文化史、哲学史、宗教史、语言史、思想史、观念史之间关系的理论研究。《世界3》对各种观念形态和方法保持开放的接纳态度,它相信理论研究领域和在人类生活的其它领域一样,只有持续保持理性的批判姿态才能真正解决问题、増长智识和获取进步。


“研究”(research)即“探寻”(search),我们希望和所有艺术史的研究者一起走入这条探寻之路。

 

 

2014年10月

 

 

姓名

立即订阅