Wu Hung Seminar One: From Monuments to Ruins

Moderator: Guo Weiqi, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts 

Time: December 27th, 2015 (Sunday) 10AM- 5PM

Venue: Gallery, OCAT Institute. Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing (100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

Organizer: OCAT Institute 

Supported by: OCT Beijng

 

Preface

“Monument”, a common term in Western art history, is normally used to describe majestic historical sites of an often commemorative nature. It could also refer to canonical texts that resonate across the past and the present, or even serve as a synonym for “masterpiece” to designate the great works of art throughout history. About twenty years ago, Wu Hung from University of Chicago employed the term “monumentality” to highlight certain characters of zhongqi (or, heavy vessels) in Chinese ancient art and architecture; he thereby teased out a fascinating thread in Chinese art history that initiates from the Prehistoric era and extends to the Wei Jin Southern and Northern dynasties. In 2009, a translation of the book Monumentality in Early Chinese Art and Architecture was made available to Chinese readers, thus opening up more focused discussions on the concepts of monument and monumentality among Chinese art historians.


 “Ruins” is another important term in Western artistic and cultural tradition, whose concept is inextricable from that of “monument”. Indeed, as many scholars have pointed out, all monuments would eventually become ruins. Coinciding with this historical and temporal logic, Professor Wu Hung saw in the notion of ruins another underlying theme in the later periods of Chinese art history. If the original publication and translation of Monumentality in Early Chinese Art and Architecture were separated by a significant gap in time, then the Chinese and English versions of A Story of Ruins: Presence and Absence in Chinese Art and Visual Culture made their readers’ debuts at roughly the same time. As introduced by the author, “[t]he larger purpose of this book is to think of Chinese art and visual culture globally” (p. 7). Similarly, this more recent publication soon brought the concept of “ruins" to the fore of art historical research in China. 

 

The research interests of the four invited scholars at the seminar intersect with both monument and ruins in various ways. Professor Zheng Yan is one of the translators of Monumentality in Early Chinese Art and Architecture, the theme of which is intimately linked with his own research on the stone arches at Anshang and the Epang Palace among others. Professor Wu Xueshan has just completed his manuscript on The Great Wall as a typical manifestation of the symbiotic relation between monument and ruins in a single historical site. Professor Tang Keyang, the author of From Ruinous Garden to Yan Garden, works at the intersection between history of architecture and history of art. Professor Wan Muchun has a long-standing interest in the pre-modern period of Western art and is currently conducting research for his manuscript on the history of travel and peregrination in China. With their respective case studies at hand, our four speakers willdebate and discuss the use significance of these two concepts for Chinese art history, and offer a compelling joint narrative on the transformation from monuments to ruins.

 

Introduction of the Seminar Schedule

 

December 27, 10-12 AM

Speaker: Zheng Yan, Professor, Central Academy of Fine Arts

Topic: What Is a “Tiejiasha [Iron Monastic Robe]”? 

 

The Lingyan monastery in Changqing, Shandong province, has long housed a piece of cast iron that measures 2.05 meters tall. Part of the “Twelve [or Eight] Scenes of Lingyan”, it was originally called “tiejiasha” and was said to have belonged to Bodhidharma or the original founder of the monastery. This paper offers an interpretation of this object from two different perspectives: the first is an archaeological one, while the second falls in the domain of cultural history. The former argues that the tiejiasha is a fragment left from a guardian figure that once formed part of a group of iron sculptures with Vaiśravaṇa as its centrepiece; the group was commissioned by the Emperor Gaozong of Tang and the Empress Consort Wu Zetian. The latter provides a philological background to the object’s name and traces the transformation of its meaning through history, contending that the designation of “tiejiasha”was a result of the “remaking of holy objects” by the monk in the monastery, while its ‘potency’ gradually diminished in time. These discussions pay special attention to the “work” as a fragment and its multiple roles in these two intersecting histories.

 

Speaker: Wu Xueshan, Associate Professor, Minzu University of China

Topic: Frontier as Ruin: National Allegory in Landscape

The Great Wall entered nineteenth-century Western photography as a kind of “picturesque”ruins. It was at once a symbol of Eastern civilization and a testimony to China’s decline. Since then, Western vision of “ruins” has been projected onto China’s Great Wall. During the Sino-Japanese War that happened at the Great Wall between the end of 1932 and the beginning of 1933, the damage caused by the Japanese army was heavily reported. Images of the Great Wall in newspapers and magazines recast the monument as “a ruin of war”, and performed forceful visual critique of the outrageous atrocities by the enemy.

 

A critical change took shape in 1937, when the Sino-Japanese War was in full swing and a new imagination of the ruin-image was on the rise. These images were constantly transmitted and echoed in photographs and paintings, and ultimately became part of the war-time visual culture: a soldier stands still on a broken and ruinous wall, as a protector of the country’s territory who calls the citizens to arm against their foreign enemies. During the Japanese evasion of Guangxi, the northern iconography of the Great Wall was soon taken up as a model for the visualisation of the Zhennan Guan on the southern border. 

 

The frontier as ruins has two layers of meanings. On the one hand, the Western view of “ruins” was internalized after its introduction to China, and the ruin became part of Chinese visual culture. On the other hand, the frontier as ruins gradually took on an allegorical guise. That is, the ruins were transformed into an allegory of the nation that would ultimately rise against its dereliction towards a glorious rebirth.  

 

December 27th, 2-4 PM

Speaker: Tang Keyang, Associate Professor, Renmin University of China

Topic: The Last 10 Minutes of Monument

The idea of “history” has ancient roots, but the formation of an idea of “history” in the field of architecture is a recent phenomenon. It does not encompass every past historical event, nor does it exist in a simple “past tense” or “past perfect tense”. We could associate this particular form of history with the presentism implicit in our understanding of memory—memory is not the passive expression of a will to reconstruct the past, but rather designates a constantly renewed understanding of the present through life. During the past century, various cases of ‘historical preservation’ manifested a desire and effort to reclaim the past for the present. 

 

“The latest ten minutes” refers to a certain kind of “new classics” within the building history of mankind; it also confronts a conception of time within the ars memoriae of modern civilisation yet to be closely examined. Is it the “Classics” and the Ancients against the Moderns? Or an indefinite“past” as opposed to the now, or “a perfected perfect tense”, or even a past infused with the now which holds within it both the old and the new? Similar distinctions and expressions can be found in theories and practices of historical preservation. Contemporary culture sees the relentlessly continuous process of heritage and monument-making. Amidst the frenzy tides of renewal, everything is ephemeral all the while calling for ever more preservation.

 

Such contemporary monuments, intertwining the present tense with the perfect tense, have become a significant chapter of architectural theory. “The latest ten minutes” that this paper will discuss is as much a historical episode as it is meta-history, a magical ars memoriae. Echoing the unique “construction” and “spatial” character of architecture, this metahistory both lays bare the general mechanism of history-making and dictates the actual process of sense-making.  

 

Speaker: Wan Muchun, Associate Professor, China Academy of Art

Topic: Travel in Western China: From 17th to 19th Century

 

December 27th, 4-5 P.M. Roundtable Discussion

Participants: Wu Hung, Zheng Yan, Wu Xueshan, Tang Keyang, Wan Muchun, Guo Weiqi etc.

 

Speakers 

Zheng Yan

Zheng Yan graduated with an archaeology major from the Department of History, Shandong University, and holds a PhD in History from the Department of Archaeology, Graduate School of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. From 1988 to 2003, he worked at Shandong Museum as researcher and Deputy Director. He then took up his current teaching position as Professor and Deputy Dean of School of Humanities at the Central Academy of Fine Arts. He was also visiting scholar at Department of Art History, University of Chicago, senior research fellow at The Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (CASVA) at the National Gallery of Art, Washington, and visiting scholar at Department of History Art and Architecture, Harvard University. His main area of research is art history and archaeology of Han and Tang.

 

Wu Xueshan

Wu received his BA from Department of Art History, Central Academy of Fine Arts, and his Ph.D from School of Humanities, Central Academy of Fine Arts in 2015. Since 2003, Wu has been teaching at School of Arts, Minzu University of China. Between 2011 and 2012, Wu was visiting scholar at Harvard Yenching Institute. His main area of research is Chinese art history, and has recently dedicated his research to the history of Chinese modern art and the visualisation of nation states.

 

Tang Keyang

Tang Keyang holds a Doctor of Design from Harvard Graduate School of Design and MAs in art history and comparative literature, from University of Chicago and Peking University respectively. He was the curator of the Chinese Pavilion at the 12th Venice Architectural Biennale and has been academic director and jury member of the new building project of National Art Museum of China since its opening in 2010. He is Associate Professor at the School of Arts at Renmin University of China, the recipient of the ‘Sanqin Scholar’ award from Shannxi Province, and has served as judge or jury member for several art and architectural projects.

 

His major exhibition projects as a curator and exhibition designer include Glories of Chinese Writing at the Palace Museum, Beijing (2010), As a curator and exhibition designer, he mainly presented the following exhibitions, the Chinese garden exhibition during the Europalia Chinese Art Festival, Brussels (2009), the Asian art exhibition at Bo’ao Forum for Asia (2009), and Chinese Gardens for Living at Schloss Pillnitz (on behalf of National Art Museum of China, in collaboration with Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden)(2008). Besides design of gallery space and exhibition display for art galleries and museums, Tang also advocates an open model for art museums and urges for innovative experiments with diverse art spaces for a pluralistic culture and society.

 

The author of From Ruinous Garden to Yan Garden and the translator of Delirious New York, Tang also published monographs and articles on architecture and urbanism with Joint Publishing, the Commercial Press, Peking University Press, and Cornell University Press. His articles could be found in journals from China and beyond, such as Dushu, Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, The Architect, Architectural Journal and etc. He has also published many creative writings, including Night, Tree (in Chinese and French), and Fireworks in Chang’an.

 

Wan Muchun

Born in 1972, Wan is Associate Professor, Doctoral Advisor and Deputy Dean of Advanced School of Art and Humanities at the China Academy of Art. He attended Chaohu Normal Vocational School, Anhui, Nanjing University of the Arts and China Academy of Art. He held teaching positions at Jiangxi Normal University and China Academy of Art. Wan Muchun was an art lover at an early age; he took up various jobs before teaching at academic institutions. He launched his professional research career in art history with his M.A. thesis Studies on Early Medici Family Art Collection: the Value of Painting in 15th Century Florence (published). Eager to carry out research with first-hand material, his interest later turned to calligraphy and painting connoisseurship in Ming. Under the supervision of Professor Fan Jingzhong, he finished his Ph.D. dissertation ‘The Idle Dweller of Weishui Xuan: The World of Calligraphy and Painting in Jiaxing at the End of Wanli Period’(a monograph under the same title has been published). His work also includes translations, including Aby Warburg’s ‘Sandro Botticelli's Birth of Venus and Spring: An Examination of the Concepts of Antiquity in the Italian Early Renaissance’, and Karl Popper’s The Logic of Scientific Discovery (co-translation). Wan Muchun takes the methodological stance as a historian throughout his research on art history and other humanities disciplines. He regards all academic writings as “creative endeavors”, and believes that the individual experience and feeling are inseparable from a scholar’s academic research. Currently, he is interested in travels in western China between the 17th and 19th centuries, on which he has published an article “Away from the Mountains and Waters: A Profile of Pre-modern Chinese Concept of Landscape”, as a first attempt at a long-term study.

 

Moderator

Guo Weiqi

Guo Weiqi is Associate Professor and Head of the Art History Department at Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts. Guo graduated from Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts with a master degree in 2005 and continued to teach there. He graduated from Nanjing Normal University in 2010 with a Ph.D., and was a visiting scholar at Center for the Art of East Asia at the University of Chicago from September 2013 to September 2014. Since 2005, he has taught courses on the historiography of Chinese art history and painting theories in pre-modern China, and have published several related articles. His main publications include a monograph Norm and Form : A Conjecture on Wen Zhengming and The Style of Wu School in the Sixteenth Century, and Chinese translation for Boundaries of the Self: Chinese Portraits, 1600-1900. He is in the process of writing Cartography and Landscape in Coromandal Screen, and He Xiangning and the Imagery of Fierce Animals in the Early 20th Century, and is working on the translation The Shape of Time: Remarks on the History of Things.




姓名

立即订阅

“巫鸿研讨班”第一期:从纪念碑到废墟

策划: OCAT研究中心

主持:郭伟其,广州美术学院副教授

时间:2015年12月27日(周日)上午10点-下午5点

地点:北京朝阳区金蝉西路OCAT研究中心下沉展厅(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米)

主办:OCAT研究中心

支持:北京世纪华侨城实业有限公司

 



策划前言

纪念碑(monument)是西方艺术史中常见的词语,它一般被用于描述带有纪念功能的宏伟遗址,也用于指代贯穿古今的书本;有时还被当成“杰作”的代名词使用,用于描述古往今来的伟大作品。大约20年前,芝加哥大学的巫鸿教授用monumentality一词来呈现中国古代艺术与建筑中“重器”的一些特质,从而为从史前到魏晋南北朝时期的中国艺术史找到了一条极富魅力的线索。2009年巫鸿教授这部著作的中译本在国内以《中国古代艺术与建筑中的“纪念碑性”》为题与读者见面,从而也使得中国艺术史学者更集中地开始关注与纪念碑相关的一些问题。

 

废墟(ruins)是另一个西方艺术史与文化史中的重要术语,同时它又与纪念碑密不可分,正如很多学者所指出的,纪念碑终将成为废墟。与这种前后顺序相巧合的是,这个概念成为了巫鸿教授描述中国晚期艺术史的另一条线索。如果说《纪念碑性》一书的写作与翻译之间存在着较大时间差的话,《废墟的故事:中国美术和视觉文化中的“在场”与“缺席”》则是以另外一种状态与读者见面的,它的中英文版本几乎在同一时间分别出版。正如作者所说,“这本书的一个宏观目标是在全球语境中思考中国的美术与视觉文化”。这同样使得“废墟”这个概念迅速成为中国艺术史学界所关注的重要概念。


本期研讨班所邀请的四位学者,都对这两个概念具有浓厚的兴趣。郑岩教授是《中国古代艺术与建筑中的“纪念碑性”》的译者之一,其本人的研究,如以庵上坊、阿房宫等为题的论著论文都与此密切相关;吴雪杉教授刚刚完成一项关于长城的写作计划,这一研究对象是纪念碑与废墟的一种典型体现;唐克扬教授曾写作《从废园到燕园》一书,其研究往往体现出建筑史与艺术史的结合;万木春教授长期关注西方经典艺术史,并正在进行有关中国旅行史的写作计划。我们期待四位老师能够结合自己的研究个案,从不同的角度来探讨这两个概念在中国艺术史中的运用,为我们讲述一段从纪念碑到废墟的精彩故事。

 

郭伟其



 
研讨班流程和内容介绍

1227日,上午10:00-12:00

发言人:郑岩,中央美术学院教授

发言题目:何物“铁袈裟”?

山东长清灵岩寺内保存的一块高达2.05米的铸铁,是“灵岩十二景”或“灵岩八景”之一,旧称“铁袈裟”,传为达摩或寺院开山始祖的遗物。围绕这件“作品”,本文从两个不同的角度进行解读。第一个角度类似于考古学,第二个角度大致属于文化史。前者论证“铁袈裟”是唐高宗和武则天所建以卢舍那佛为主尊的一组铁像中力士的残块。后者讨论“铁袈裟”得名的背景及其意义的历史嬗变,认为“铁袈裟”一名是寺院僧人“再造圣物”的结果,而随着时代的变迁,其“灵力”逐步消失。这些讨论尤其注重作为碎片的“作品”本身在这两种历史中所扮演的角色。

 

发言人:吴雪杉,中央民族大学副教授

发言题目:边城废墟:风景中的民族寓言

长城在19世纪末进入西方摄影时就带有某种废墟“如画”的性质,它既是东方文明的标志,又是中国衰落的证明。西方式的“废墟”眼光从此开始投射到中国的长城上。1932年底至1933年初长城抗战期间,日本军队对长城的破坏被大量报道,报刊杂志中的长城的影像让长城在视觉上成为“战争废墟”,以此控诉敌人令人发指的战争罪行。

 

决定性的转变发生在1937年中日战争全面爆发后,一种新的、带有想象性的废墟图像开始兴起。一个战士伫立在残破的、形如废墟的城墙上,他在保卫国土,也在唤起国民抗击外敌。这类图像在摄影、绘画不断传播和复制,最终成为抗战期间视觉文化的一部分,北方的长城如此呈现,当日军入侵广西时,最南方的边城“镇南关”同样也要以这种方式被视觉化。

 

边城废墟在两个层面上具有意义。一方面,来自西方的“废墟”在进入中国后被内化了,废墟本身开始成为人们视觉文化的一部分;另一方面,边城废墟开始具有寓言性质,废墟本身成为一则战胜废墟、重获新生的民族寓言。

 

1227日,下午2:00-4:00

发言人:唐克扬,中国人民大学副教授

发言题目:纪念碑的最近十分钟

“历史”观念的形成本身源远流长,但建筑领域的“历史”观念形成则是晚近的事,它并不涵盖一切消逝的史事,不是简单的“过去时”或者“过去完成时”,而是和即时当下的“记忆”有关——记忆不是消极地表达重构过往的愿望,而是不断更新的生命对此刻的认识,在过去一个世纪里,不同的“历史保护”案例也在竭力地构造它们专属的“现在时”。

 

“最近十分钟”有关于人类建造史上的某种新经典(new classics),也牵涉到文明记忆术中有待细辨的时间观念:是与现代相对的大写的“古典”,是相对于此刻的无定的“过去”,还是“完成的完成”,一种既新且旧的,注满了现时的过去?我们可以在历史保护的理论和实践之中找到类似的区分和表达,在当代的文化中,它们见证着随时随刻都在产生的“古迹”,在汹涌而至的更新热潮中,一切都难以长存,与此同时有更多的东西亟需得到“保护”。

 

如此的当代纪念碑已成为建筑理论中大写的篇章,它是“现在时”和“完成时”的混合。笔者将要讨论的“最近十分钟”既构成历史的一部分,又是元历史,一种具有生发魔力的记忆术。呼应着建筑独特的“建构”和“空间”特征,这种元历史揭示了历史产生的一般机制,并约定了它的实际感受。

 

发言人:万木春,中国美术美院副教授

发言题目:19世纪中国西部的旅行

 

1227日,下午4:00-5:00 圆桌讨论

列席学者:巫鸿、郑岩、吴雪杉、唐克扬、万木春、郭伟其等

 



发言嘉宾学术简历

毕业于山东大学历史系考古专业、中国社会科学院研究生院考古系,历史学博士。1988至2003年在山东省博物馆工作,任研究馆员、副馆长等职。2003年调中央美术学院美术史系任教。现任中央美术学院教授、人文学院副院长。先后为美国芝加哥大学美术史系访问学者、华盛顿国家美术馆高级视觉艺术研究中心客座高级研究员、美国哈佛大学美术与建筑史系访问学者。主要研究方向为汉唐美术史与考古学。

 

吴雪杉

在中央美术学院美术史系获得学士学位,又于2015年在中央美术学院人文学院获博士学位。自2003年起任教于中央民族大学美术学院至今,2011-2012年度为哈佛燕京学社访问学者。主要研究方向是中国美术史,近年来尤致力于中国现代艺术史及民族国家的视觉形象研究。

 

唐克扬

分别于哈佛大学设计学院获设计学博士学位,芝加哥大学获艺术史硕士学位,北京大学获比较文学硕士学位。他是2010年威尼斯建筑双年展中国馆策展人和2010年开展迄今的国家美术馆新馆项目的学术主持和专家组成员,现任中国人民大学副教授,陕西省“三秦学者”和多个艺术、建筑项目的评议人或专家委员。

作为策展人和展览设计师,他策划和设计的主要展览包括2010年在故宫博物院举办的“典藏文明之光”特展,2009年布鲁塞尔欧罗巴利亚中国艺术节园林展,2009年博鳌论坛亚洲艺术群展,以及在奥古斯都的夏宫举办的“活的中国园林”特展(代表中国美术馆,与德累斯顿国家收藏馆合作)。唐克扬不仅为美术馆和博物馆设计画廊空间和展陈,还一直致力于推动开放式的美术馆,也即在多样的社会文化前提下对不同的艺术空间进行有前瞻性的实验。

以《从废园到燕园》、《癫狂的纽约》(译作)等为代表,唐克扬有关建筑和城市的专著论文先后为三联书店、商务印书馆、北京大学出版社、康奈尔大学出版社等出版,并发表于《读书》、《建筑史论文集》、《建筑师》、《建筑学报》等多种中外期刊,并有《夜》、《树》(中、法文版)、《长安的烟火》等多种创作作品发表。

 

万木春
1972年生,中国美术学院副教授、博士生导师、艺术人文学院副院长。先后就学于安徽巢湖师专、南京艺术学院和中国美术学院。先后任教于江西师范大学和中国美术学院。万木春早先是位美术爱好者,在成为学院教授前从事过多种工作,他从硕士学位论文“早期美第奇家族艺术收藏研究:十五世纪佛罗伦萨的绘画价值观念”(已发表)开始美术史专业写作。由于渴望面对一手材料进行研究,他后来的兴趣转向了明代书画鉴藏史,并在范景中教授的指导下完成了博士学位论文“味水轩里的闲居者:万历末年嘉兴的书画世界”(同名专著已出版)。他还发表过一些译作,包括Aby Warburg的“波蒂切利的《维纳斯的诞生》和《春》:意大利早期文艺复兴的古物观念”、Karl Popper的《科学发现的逻辑》(与人合译)等等。万木春喜欢待在历史学的位置上处理美术史及一切人文学科,视学术著述为“作品”,并认为研究者的个人经验和感受是其学术研究不可分割的一部分。他目前感兴趣的问题是17-19世纪中国西部的旅行,就此方向尝试性地发表了论文“远离山水:中国古代山水观的一个侧面”,这只是一项长期研究的开始。

  

主持人学术简历

 

郭伟其

广州美术学院副教授,美术史系系主任。2005年毕业于广州美术学院,获硕士学位并留校任教;2010年毕业于南京师范大学,获博士学位;2013年9月至2014年9月赴芝加哥大学东亚艺术研究中心访学。2005年开始负责《中国艺术史学史》、《中国古代画论》等多门课程的讲授,并发表多篇相关学术论文。主要研究成果有专著《停云模楷:关于文徵明与十六世纪吴门风格规范的一种假设》和译著《自我的界限:1600—1900年的中国肖像画》(Boundaries of the Self: Chinese Portraits)。目前正在进行的主要研究有《科罗曼多屏风上的地图与景观》、《何香凝与20世纪上半叶的猛兽图像》的写作以及《时间的形状:论物的历史》(The Shape of Time: Remarks on the History of Things )的翻译。











姓名

立即订阅