Georges Didi-Huberman Seminar Three: Image, History, Poetry

Time: June 25th, 2015 (Thursday) 2PM- 5PM

Venue: OCAT Institute, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing ( 100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

Organizer: OCAT Institute 

Support: OCT Beijing

 

“Georges Didi-Huberman Seminar” is one of the public programs of OCAT Institute during 2014 and 2015, planned and hosted by OCAT Institute. The seminar consists of three parts which took place under different topics from October 2014 to June 2015.

 

“Georges Didi-Huberman Seminar” revolves around French philosopher, art historian Georges Didi-Huberman’s essential works and his academic thoughts in curatorial practice, focusing on exploring Didi-Huberman’s academic structure, research topics and their meanings to Chinese art history research. Each seminar consists of three agendas, namely, general review of the discipline, topic research and open discussion. General review scrutinizes art history as a humanities discipline and its interaction, in the process of formation and development, with such fields as classical studies, philosophy, theology, mythology, anthropology, linguistics, biology, psychoanalysis and feminism. Topic research aims to observe through specific topics, the changes, meanings and influences of various concepts, problems and methodologies under interdisciplinary contexts. Open discussion encourages participants and audiences from different academic backgrounds to share thoughts and further expand the intellectual landscape. Through the combination of the above three agendas, the seminar aims at re-evaluating the objects and classical methods of art history under its own academic and intellectual history, and encouraging free exchanges in an academic atmosphere that gathers the young and the old, the past and the present. 

 

“Georges Didi-Huberman Seminar” Series 3, titled “Image, History, Poetry”, will take place at OCAT Institute on May 25th, 2015. Series 1 “Legacies of Warburg” focused on the discussion of two aspects that last throughout the academic activities of Didi-Huberman: Warburg’s research in art and cultural history, the art historical tradition under the influence of 20th century French philosophy, psychoanalysis and cinema theories. The former concerns itself with the trajectory of Warburg’s academic thoughts and the development of Hamburg School as a whole, as well as Panofsky’s inheritance and deflection of Warburg. While the latter involves using psychoanalysis and iconography as methodological references (symptom v.s. detail), post-1960 French literary critics, influence of phenomenology and other fields in art history. Series 2 “Montage and the Unconscious Archive” (March 29th, 2015) focused on the epistemological, ethical and political aspects of image. Following the path paved by Didi-Huberman’s Images Malgre Tout, the seminar explored how montage offers an epistemological possibility that transcends memetic function when facing historical fracture or trauma. Specifically involved were the metaphysical rootsbehind the anti-thetical attitudes on historical archives in Lanzmann’s Shoah and Godard’s Histoire(s) du Cinéma, the echoing historical views and methodologies of Benjamin’s dialectical cultural history and Warburg’s Mnemosyne Atlas, Hans Belting’s anthropology of images and its application in understanding image and speech production in domestic China, the development of amateur image as historical archive in the practice of contemporary image practice, etc.

 

As the final series of “Georges Didi-Huberman Seminar”, “Image, History, Poetry” will systematically examine the core problem that Didi-Huberman has been contemplating: the relation between image, time and knowledge. Didi-Huberman himself will participate and moderate this seminar, and hopefully will exchange with scholars and audiences on the following four problems:

 

1. What are the temporalities of images? (Quelles sont les temporalités propres aux images?)

2. What kind of special knowledge can we construct on images?(Quel genre particulier de savoir peut-on construire sur les images?)

3. What kind of special knowledge can image itself construct?(Quel genre particulier de savoir les images elles-mêmes construisent-elles?)

4. What kind of psychology or anthropology is efficient in understanding images?(Quelle psychologie ou anthropologie sont-elles nécessaires pour comprendre l’efficacité des images?)

 

Georges Didi-Huberman (b. 1953) is a French philosopher and art historian. He is also a professor at the École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (EHESS) in Paris. Born in Saint-Étienne in 1953, he completed his doctoral research at the EHESS under the supervision of Louis Marin. His main publications include: Devant l’image: questions posées aux fins d’une histoire de l’art, L’image survivante: Histoire de l’art et temps des fantômes selon Aby Warburg, and Invention de l’hystérie: Charcot et l’iconographie photographique de la Salpêtrière.



姓名

立即订阅

“乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼研讨班”第三期:图像,历史,诗歌

主持:乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼(Georges Didi-Huberman)

时间:2015年6月25日(周四)下午2点至5点

地点:北京朝阳区金蝉西路(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口往北100米)

主办:OCAT研究中心

支持:北京世纪华侨城实业有限公司

 



“乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼研讨班”是OCAT 研究中心(OCAT Institute)2014-2015年度的公共项目之一,由OCAT研究中心策划、主办,本系列研讨班分为三期,于2014年10月至2015年6月以不同的研讨主题进行。

“乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼研讨班”围绕法国哲学家、艺术史学家乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼的代表性论著与策展实践中蕴含的学术思想展开,侧重发掘迪迪-于贝尔曼的学术体系、研究课题和对中国艺术史研究的借鉴性意义。研讨班活动主要分为学科综述、专题研究与开放讨论三个部分。学科综述主要审视艺术史作为一门人文学科在形成与发展过程中与古典研究、哲学、神学、神话学、人类学、语言学、生物学、精神分析、女性主义等领域发生的相互作用;专题研究旨在通过具体课题观察不同概念、问题和方法在跨学科过程中产生的变化、意义与影响;开放讨论鼓励来自不同专业背景的参与者、观众分享研讨心得,进一步展开丰富的思想图景。通过上述三个部分的结合,研讨班意图在艺术史学史与思想史的脉络中重新审视艺术史的对象与经典方法,在少长咸集、古今同在的学术氛围中自由交流。


“乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼研讨班”第三期的题目为“图像、历史、诗歌”, 将于2015年6月25日在OCAT研究中心举行。第一期“瓦尔堡的遗产”(2014年10月12日)集中探讨了两条贯穿迪迪-于贝尔曼学术活动的线索:瓦尔堡的艺术与文化史研究和在20世纪法国哲学、精神分析学与电影理论影响下的艺术史传统。前一条线索具体涉及瓦尔堡的学术思想历程、汉堡学派整体的发展轨迹和潘诺夫斯基对瓦尔堡的继承与转向;后者则包括精神分析学与图像学在方法论层面的可借鉴性(症状vs.细节)、法国二十世纪六十年代之后文学批评、现象学等领域对艺术史研究的影响。第二期研讨班“蒙太奇与潜意识文献”(2015年3月29日)集中在图像的知识、伦理和政治维度,沿着迪迪-于贝尔曼在《图像唯生》一书中给出的进路探究蒙太奇如何在面对历史断裂或创伤时提供了一种超越图像模仿功能的知识可能性,具体涉及朗兹曼《浩劫》与戈达尔《电影史》在对待历史档案时采取的迥异态度背后隐藏的形上学根源;本雅明的辩证文化史与瓦尔堡《记忆女神图集》在历史观与方法论上的呼应、汉斯·贝尔廷的图像人类学及其在解读中国本土的图像与话语生产中的应用、作为历史档案的业余影像在当代影像实践中的发展等课题。


作为“乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼研讨班”的最后一期,“图像、历史、诗歌”将系统审视迪迪-于贝尔曼一直以来思考的核心问题:图像、时间与知识三者间的关系。迪迪-于贝尔曼本人也将参加、主持本期研讨班,并希望和与会学者及观众针对以下四个问题展开交流:

1. 图像的时间性都有哪些?(Quelles sont les temporalités propres aux images?)

2. 我们能够为图像建立一种怎样的特殊知识?(Quel genre particulier de savoir peut-on construire sur les images?)

3. 图像本身能构建一种怎样的特殊知识?(Quel genre particulier de savoir les images elles-mêmes construisent-elles?)

4. 怎样的心理学或人类学在理解图像的有效性时是必须的?(Quelle psychologie ou anthropologie sont-elles nécessaires pour comprendre l’efficacité des images?)

 



乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼(Georges Didi-Huberman)

1953年生于法国圣艾蒂安(Saint Etienne),在法国社会科学高等研究院(École des Haute études en Sciences Sociales,EHESS)Louis Marin教授的辅导下拿到博士学位,并于1985年起在社会科学高等研究院任教,并持续至今。他的代表著作包括《直面图像》(Devant l’image, 1990)、《幸存的影像》(L’image survivante, 2002)和《歇斯底里症的发明》(Invention de l’hystérie, 2012)等。迪迪-于贝尔曼的策展实践也是他整体学术活动的重要组成部分,包括1997年在法国蓬皮杜中心与Didier Semin共同策划“印记”(L’Empreinte)、2001年在法国弗雷努瓦国家当代艺术工作室策划“场所传奇”(Fables du lieu)、2010-2011年在西班牙马德里索菲亚皇后国家艺术中心博物馆策划“阿特拉斯:如何肩负世界?”(Atlas: How to Carry the World on One’s Back?)等重要展览。


迪迪-于贝尔曼的思想脉络可被总结为当代艺术的诗学、艺术史传统的批判性解读与基于瓦尔堡图像研究和弗洛伊德精神分析学的新型图像哲学。遵循瓦尔堡“无名之学”的脚步,迪迪-于贝尔曼的图像研究可被视为一种将文化整体作为对象的精神病理学。瓦尔堡的“情念形式”对迪迪-于贝尔曼来说是“错位”(anachronistic)时间结构的可见症状,不同形式的精神能量冲突在图像中彼此纠缠、混淆,并潜伏于编年史之下,以意外的形式重新浮现。“症状”(symptom)在这里既是对该冲突的抑制,也是其不可抵抗的回返。它并不指向某种可以再被书写、再现的历史,而是被再现本身遮蔽的精神时间(psychic time)。对该时间的诠释需要一套区别于经典图像学的研究方法与思想谱系。迪迪-于贝尔曼一方面将目光投向歌德的形态学、达尔文的情感表达原则、尼采的酒神精神、夏柯(Charcot)的歇斯底里症、弗洛伊德的潜意识等对瓦尔堡产生深刻影响的学说,另一方面结合拉康、福柯、巴特、本雅明、阿尔托、德勒兹等20世纪法国理论线索,让自己的研究通过症状学与符号学的对比为法国艺术史研究另辟蹊径。除此之外,迪迪-于贝尔曼揭示了瓦尔堡的《记忆女神图集》(Atlas Mnémosyne)与活动影像之间的呼应,对我们既有的观看、感受与共处方式提出新的挑战。


 

 

姓名

立即订阅