Exhibition Lecture | Big Tail Elephants: Labouring the Real

Speaker: Anthony Yung

Time: 14/05/2017    15:00-17:00 

Venue: OCAT Institute (100 meters North from Subway line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing)

Organizer: OCAT Institute

Support: OCT 

Booking: The event is free. Please sign up via the official wechat account-ocatinstitute-by providing “the date of event(0514)+name+phone number” 


About the Lecture:

As an affiliated activity to the exhibition “Big Tail Elephants: One Hour, No Space, Five Shows”, “Big Tail Elephants:Labouring of the Real” aims to understand the works by the artists of Big Tail Elephants, especially performance and installation works that emphasize the liveliness and temporality, through the discussion of the concept  “laboring”. The appropriation of labour and their reflection on it can be found not only in the materials they use, but also in their working methods and intervention in space and problems. In the Chinese context, this direction of art creation is totally different from the metaphysics and conceptualism originated from the “85’ New Wave”. In the global contemporary art arena, Big Tail Elephants’ work  also responds to a core issue emerged from  the 1990s, which is how to step to truth.


Anthony Yung is senior researcher at Asia Art Archive, specializing in the development of contemporary art in mainland China since the 1970s. He is the awardee of "The Fourth Yishu Awards for Critical Writing on Contemporary Chinese Art" (2014) and co-curator of "A Hundred Years of Shame - Songs of Resistance and Scenarios for Chinese Nations" (2015, Para Site Art Space, Hong Kong). Yung is also co-founder of Observation Society, an independent art space in Guangzhou.


About the Exhibition: 

The “Big Tail Elephants Working Group”(aka Big Tail Elephants), comprised of the artists Chen Shaoxiong, Liang Juhui, Lin Yilin, and Xu Tan, was active during the 1990s in Guangzhou, the heart of the Pearl River Delta region. From 1991 to 1996, Big Tail Elephants self-organized five exhibitions in temporary spaces that varied from cultural palaces and bars to basements of commercial buildings and outdoor venues. In 1998, two collective presentations of the group's recent works were staged at Hong Kong Polytechnic University and Kunsthalle Bern respectively. After 1998, Big Tail Elephants received a number of invitations to participate in international exhibitions. Since then, members of the group have participated in P_A_U_S_E: 4th Gwangju Biennale (2002), The 50th Venice Biennale-Zone of Urgency (2003), and The 2nd Guangzhou Triennial-Beyond: An Extraordinary Space of Experimentation for Modernization (2005), among other shows. 

 

The decade from 1990 to 2000 saw the emergence of distinctive developments within the once peripheral contemporary art scene of the Pearl River Delta region, which could, in part, be seen as a result of the combined forces of the explosive economic growth in China and throughout Asia, and the twin projects of modernization and urbanization. Promoted in the guise of “freedom and openness,” globalization, commodity economy, and consumerism deeply transformed the lives of ordinary people. Driven by the intense growth of economy and the desire for the renewal of material life, an peculiar model of modernization, neither “Western” nor “Chinese,” gradually took shape and came into reality. Witnessing and experiencing this complex set of realities, Big Tail Elephants strove for the autonomy and legitimacy of artists and artistic practices, and developed a self-conscious mode of critique and resistance to the modernist binaries of the West/China, central/local, public/private, and avant-garde/conservative. Since 2000, Big Tail Elephants have not appeared as a group in exhibitions, but the members have remained active in contemporary artistic practices, and have contributed to the education and training of younger artists. Big Tail Elephants’ continuous activities and influence during the 1990s played a positive role in the artistic environment of the Pearl River Delta region, illustrating that, in spite of a lack of infrastructure and external support, creative forces and energies could still be nurtured. 

 

Big Tail Elephants: One Hour, No Room, Five Shows is the first comprehensive retrospective of the group, bringing together, and at times re-staging, important works, actions, projects, and archives of the group. “One Hour” refers to Liang Juhui’s performance piece “One Hour Game” (1996), enacted in the elevator of a construction site in Guangzhou. Working directly in public urban spaces, Big Tail Elephants proactively engaged with the ephemerality of artistic projects. “No Room” corresponds to the title of the group's fourth exhibition in 1994, organized at No. 14 Sanyu Road, Guangzhou. Suggested by Hou Hanru, the title indicates the paucity of institutions and spaces available for the display of contemporary art in the 1990s, while also alluding to the guerrilla-style spontaneity of the group's exhibition initiatives. “Five Shows” highlights the five exhibitions organized by the group in non-art spaces between 1991 and 1996, which form the core of the OCAT Institute's survey of their works. The members of Big Tail Elephants were among the earliest to adopt a conceptualist approach, and introduced ideas of temporality, process, and immateriality into their practice. Exhibitions and sites of action were thought of as laboratories for their artistic experiments that brought art and everyday life, concept and medium, audience and artwork into constant interactions. Ideas materialized directly in the exhibition spaces; processes paraded from streets to bars; performances and works were open to the participation and intervention of audiences. The works and actions conducted by Big Tail Elephants constructed temporal-spatial relations that only happened once. These fleeting events collapsed the hierarchical ordering of art and non-art, elitism and street culture, and offered prescient insight into the socio-political context of contemporary art in China during and after the 1990s, and its pointed and deliberate lack of ideological appeals.

 

Invited by OCAT Institute in Beijing, Big Tail Elephants: One Hour, No Room, Five Shows besides showcasing selected works from its previous edition in Guangzhou, devotes a special section to the conceptual reconstruction of the fourth exhibition organized by Big Tail Elephants at No.14 Sanyu Lu. The spatial reenactment situates the self-organized artistic strategies in the actual context of the 1990s. Responding to OCAT Institute’s unique institutional vision, additional archival materials are incorporated into this second edition, including exhibition floorplans, artist proposals and sketches, conversations and reviews, many of which are presented to the public for the first time. 









姓名

立即订阅

展览活动|大尾象:真实的劳动

主讲人:翁子健

时间:2017年5月14日  15:00-17:00 

地点:北京市朝阳区金蝉西路OCAT研究中心(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米)


主办:OCAT研究中心 

支持:深圳华侨城股份有限公司


## 本次活动免费,发送“0514+姓名+电话”至OCAT北京微信公众平台,发送信息即视为预约成功 ##


活动介绍

本次活动讨论如何以“劳动”的概念,了解“大尾象”的几位艺术家之强调现场性和临时性的装置-行为创作。在“大尾象”的艺术材料、工作方法和对场域及问题的介入中,我们都能发现对劳动形式的挪用及关于劳动的反思。在中国的语境中,这种取向与发展自“85新潮”中的形而上学及观念主义截然不同,在全球当代艺术的语境中,“大尾象”的工作又回应了一个1990年代以来的核心问题:如何迈向真实。

 

主讲人介绍

翁子健是香港亚洲艺术文献库的资深研究员,其研究范围针对二十世纪七十年代以来中国大陆当代艺术的发展。此外,他是第四届《Yishu》当代中国艺术评论写作奖(2014年)的得主,曾策划展览包括《土尾世界——抵抗的转喻和中华国家想象》(2015年,Para Site艺术空间,香港),也是位于广州的独立艺术空间“观察社”的创办人之一。


关于展览  

“大尾象工作组”(以下简称“大尾象”)由艺术家陈劭雄、梁钜辉、林一林和徐坦组成,九十年代活跃于以广州为中心的珠江三角洲地区。1991-1996年期间,“大尾象”在文化宫、酒吧、大厦地下层和户外等临时空间,自主组织策划了五回展览;1998年,他们在香港理工大学和瑞士伯尔尼美术馆各举办了一次呈现工作组整体面貌和新作的展览;1998年之后,大尾象受到了各类大型国际展览的邀请,工作组成员在“第四届光州双年展——暂停计划”(2002)“第五十届威尼斯双年展之紧急地带”(2003)“别样:一个特殊的现代化实验空间——第二届广州三年展”(2005)中分别参展。

 

1990-2000年之间是珠三角当代艺术在其边缘性中酝酿出独特性的十年,这种独特性可被视为中国和亚洲爆炸性经济起飞、现代化和城市化的产物。全球化、商品经济、消费主义以一种“自由开放”的面貌深刻地改变着普通人的生活,一种特殊的、既非西方,也非中国的现代化模式在紧迫的经济发展需要和更新生活的欲望的驱使下形成并付诸实行。对这种复杂的现实有着切身体会的大尾象成员,从艺术家及艺术创作的自主性和合法性出发,自觉地萌生出对西方/中国、中央/地方、公共/个人、前卫/保守等现代性两极思维方式的抵制和思考。2000年后,大尾象甚少再以工作组名义联合参展,但其中的主要成员仍活跃于当代艺术领域,并投入到年轻艺术家的教育和培养之中。“大尾象”在此十年期间持续的活动及其后续影响,对珠三角当代艺术生态起到了积极的作用,他们提示艺术家即使在缺少外部支持的环境当中,仍然可以保持创造的活力。



“大尾象:一小时,没空间,五回展”是对“大尾象”主要作品、展览活动和现存文献的回顾、整理和重现。“一小时”引自梁钜辉1996年在广州某建筑工地电梯上实施的行为“游戏一小时”,通过在城市公共空间中直接实施作品,“大尾象”以主动开放的态度演绎艺术家项目的“临时性”。“没空间”则对应大尾象1994年在广州三育路14号组织的第四回展, 展览标题“没有空间”来自侯瀚如的建议,既提示了九十年代当代艺术展示空间的匮乏,亦突出了艺术家自发展览的游击性质;“五回展”强调大尾象1991-1996年间在不同类型的非艺术空间中组织的五次展览,这五回展构成了本次OCAT研究中心展览的中心和基础。较早关注观念艺术实践的“大尾象”成员,将时间、过程、非物质性等概念引入创作,并将展览及活动视作探索艺术与日常生活、观念与媒介物、观众与作品关系的实验场所。概念在展厅中直接成型,过程从街道延伸至酒吧,作品和行为向观众的参与开放……“大尾象”在此期间的展览和活动,构成了种种一次性的时空关系。这些稍纵即逝的事件,打破了艺术和非艺术、精英主义与街头文化的排他秩序,为解读中国九十年代及其后去意识形态化的当代艺术及其社会政治语境,提供了新的可能性和入口。

 

本次“大尾象:一小时,没空间,五回展”受邀于OCAT研究中心展出,除了呈现在广东时代美术馆展出过的部分作品外,特别围绕1994年“大尾象”在广州三育路14号组织的“没有空间”展览,作了概念上的模拟和重建,以期反映出九十年代艺术家自发展览的真实语境。因应OCAT研究中心独特的学术定位,展览的文献部分加入了展览空间图、艺术家方案和手稿、各类对话和评论等此前未曾公开展示的研究资料。


展览信息

大尾象:一小时,没空间,五回展

展期:2017年3月16日 — 7月16日

参展艺术家:陈劭雄(1962-2016)、梁钜辉(1959-2016)、林一林(1964-)、徐坦(1957-)

策展人:侯瀚如、蔡影茜

地址:北京市朝阳区金蝉西路OCAT研究中心(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区B出口向北100米)

开放时间:周二至周日 10:00 - 17:00 (逢周一闭馆)





姓名

立即订阅