Stories of Exhibitions: Telling A Profile of Chinese Contemporary Art in the 1990s

Hosted by: OCAT Institute

Venue: OCAT Institute, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing ( 100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

Time: June 27th, 2016   4 - 6 PM

Moderated by: Zhou Lin (Head of Exhibition Department, OCAT Institute)

Guests: Wu Hung, Leng Lin, Song Dong, Wu Wenguang

 

“Exhibition within exhibition” is the fundamental curatorial concept  of “An Exhibition About Exhibitions: Displaying Contemporary Art in the 1990s ”. Curator Wu Hung takes ‘exhibition’ as a concept and activity, and focuses on relevant issues regarding this concept. These issues all happened within the context of art in 90s’ China, and intrigued active discussions and practices among experimental artists, independent curators and art critics. Subsequently, these discussions and practices inspired a series of strongly experimental exhibitions and the constitution of a body of authentic works in a special age. These productions of art not only gathered attention to exhibitions and artworks themselves, but also emphasized the significance of contemporary art and its sustained interaction with the Chinese society. This also exerted significant influences among people working in the art world, and even those outside the art world.

 

The exhibition “It's Me! A Profile of Chinese Contemporary Art in the 90s’, curated by Leng Lin, was due to take place from November 21st to 24th in 1998, in the Grand Palace of the Imperial Ancestral Temple( Beijing). However, it was forced to close on the day of opening. Except for the participants, i.e., organizer, curator and artists, the show was never really viewed by any other audiences. Yet it was participated and intervened externally in another way. Wu Wenguang, a documentary director, was at the opening but failed to enter the galleries. With a handheld video camera, he documented the whole story of  “All works are inside, whereas all people are outside’. This is a line in the film, and also the fundamental concept of “An Exhibition About Exhibitions”. By re-presenting the spatial relations of “It’s Me”,  in another word, the interaction between the galleries inside (exhibition, concept and works) and the exterior space (environment, censorship and audiences), “An exhibition about exhibitions” aims to re-discover and discuss the threats confronting experimental art exhibitions in the 90s. Such “re-presentation” of the space and content, therefore, becomes the core element of the current exhibition.

 

As part of the public programs for ‘An Exhibition About Exhibitions’, this talk gathers Leng Lin, the curator of  “It’s Me”, Song Dong, a participating artist, and Wu Wenguang, a witness to the event. From the perspective of Wu Hung, a history researcher, it tries to bring today’s audience back into the exhibition which was held 18 years ago. This talk not only serves as a response to the current exhibition at OCAT institute by revisiting exhibitions in the 90s, but also through the stories will be told by the guests, it hopes to re-raise questions regarding the history of exhibitions of a specific time period from diversified perspectives. These questions may either exclusively emerged in the 90s, and only be legitimate in that period, or they have developed into different problems and continue to re-appear in the present.

 

Guests:

Wu Hung 

Wu Hung is a permanent member of the American Academy of Art and Science, is a famous art historian, critic, and curator. Currently he holds the Harrie A. Vanderstappen Distinguished Service Professorship at the Department of Art History and the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations at the University of Chicago, and is also the director of the Center for the Art of East Asia and the Consulting Curator at the Smart Museum at the same university. He sits on many international committees including Guggenheim Museum’s Asian Art Council, and chairs the Academic Committees of OCT Contemporary Art Terminal and Yuz Museum. Wu Hung’s research interests include both traditional and contemporary art. Regarding contemporary art, he has curated many exhibitions since the 1980s, including individual artists’ one-person shows, thematic group exhibitions, and biennales and triennials. In addition to the catalogues that he compiled for these exhibitions, he has published many influential books and anthologies, including Making History: WHung on Contemporary Art (2008), Wu Hung on Contemporary Chinese Artists (2009), Contemporary Chinese Art: Primary Documents (2010), and Contemporary Chinese Art: A History (2014)

 

Leng Lin

Leng Lin graduated from the Department of Art History, Central Academy of Fine Arts. He was Associate Researcher at the Institute of Literature, Chinese Academy of Social Sciences. In 2004, Leng Lin founded Beijing Commune. He is also a co-founder of Pace Gallery in Beijing, and he opened Pace Hong Kong in 2014. Together with artists Hong Hao, Xiao Yu, Liu Jianhua, and Song Dong, Leng Lin is a member of the artist group Polit-Sheer-Form-Office (PSFO). 

 

Song Dong 

Song Dong was born in Beijing in 1966. As an outstanding artist in the Chinese avant-garde art movement, he then became an important artist in the development of Chinese contemporary art. He graduated from the Department of Fine Arts, Capital Normal University, as a major of oil painting. From the beginning of the 90s, he started to create works in many media including performances, videos, installations, photographs, conceptual paintings and theaters. He also organized a wide range of contemporary art exhibitions and activities. By means of works in different forms, he explores the transiency of human behavior. His works also apply Eastern wisdom to the exploration of the relation between life and art, and are influential internationally.


Wu Wenguang

Wu Wenguang was born in 1956 in Kunming, Yunnan. After graduated junior high school in 1974, he went to the countryside as an urban educated youth to do agricultural works until 1978, when he was accepted into the Department of Chinese, Yunnan University. From 1982 to 1985, he was a teacher at Kunming No.3 Secondary School and Xinjiang Nilka County No.2 Pasture. Between 1985 and 1989, he worked as a reporter and editor at a TV station. Since 1988, he has been living and working in Beijing as an independent producer, writer, and dance theater producer. He shoots documentaries in the field, also writes and produces dance theater works. In 2005, he founded CaoChangDi Workstation in Beijing.









姓名

立即订阅

展览的故事:讲述九十年代艺术发展的一个侧面

主办: OCAT研究中心

地点: OCAT研究中心(北京金蝉西路地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米)

时间:2016年6月27日 下午4点至6点

主持人:周琳 (OCAT研究中心展览部主任)

对话嘉宾:巫鸿、冷林、宋冬、吴文光




“展中展”是“关于展览的展览:90年代的当代艺术展示”的基本呈现方式, 策划人巫鸿将本次展览聚焦于作为概念和活动的“展览”以及相关问题。 这些问题在中国九十年代的艺术语境中集中发生,吸引了实验艺术家、独立策展人和艺术批评家的积极讨论和尝试实践。 从而促使了一系列具有强烈实验性的展览的发生, 以及在特定时代下具有重要原创性作品的构成。这些艺术生产不仅将注意力聚集到展览和作品本身,更凸显了当代艺术的意义和与中国社会之间持续的相互作用,在艺术从业者甚至旁观者之中形成了不可忽视的影响。

 

90年代末,由冷林策划的 “是我!——九十年代艺术发展的一个侧面”原定1998年11月21日至24日于北京太庙大殿举办, 而展览在开幕当天被叫停。 除了内部的参与者(组织者、策划人与艺术家), 展览从未被真正观看, 但却以另外一种形式被“外部地”(externally)参与及介入。 纪录片导演吴文光作为出席开幕却未能进入到展厅内部的观众之一,用随身携带的手持录像机记录下了当天“作品都在里面, 人都在外面”的始末。 这句影片中的对白也正是“关于展览的展览”的基本概念所在。 通过再现(re-present)“是我!”的空间关系, 即展厅内部(展览、概念、作品)与展场外部(环境、审查、观众)的互动, 这个展览意在重新发现并讨论九十年代的实验性艺术展览所面临的挑战。而这个空间与内容的“再现”也就成为了当前这个展览的核心组成部分。

 

此次对话借“关于展览的展览”之契机, 将“是我”展览的策划人冷林、参展艺术家宋冬、事件亲历者吴文光重新聚集在一起,由历史的搜寻者(history researcher)巫鸿的角度切入,试图将今天的观众带入到18年前的展览事件当中。这场对话的目的并不仅限于配合当前展览回顾九十年代的展览历史情景,更希望能够从不同参与者的口述及相互回忆中,多角度地针对一个年代的展览历史重新提出问题。这些问题可能只产生并作用于九十年代,又或许已经衍生成不同的模式持续地发生在当下。 

 



嘉宾介绍

巫鸿

巫鸿是美国国家文理学院终身院士, 著名美术史家、艺评家和策展人。现任芝加哥大学美术史系和东亚语言文化系“斯德本特殊贡献教授”、东亚艺术中心主任及斯马特美术馆顾问策展人。他是许多国际委员会的成员,包括美国古根汉姆美术馆亚洲艺术参议会委员、华侨城当代艺术中心馆群(OCAT)学术委员会主席和余德耀美术馆学术委员会主席。巫鸿的研究和策展涉及古代和当代两方面。在当代美术领域中,他自上世纪80年代以来策划了大量展览,包括多个艺术家的个展、主体性群展和双年/三年展。除了为这些展览所编辑的图录以外,他撰写了多部具有影响的有关当艺术的著作,包括《作品与现场:巫鸿论中国当代艺术》(2005)、《走自己的路:巫鸿论中国当代艺术家》(2008)、《中国当代艺术:基本文献》(2010,英文)和《中国当代艺术:一个历史叙事》(2014,英文)。

 

冷林

冷林毕业于中央美术学院美术史系,曾任中国社会科学院文学所副研究员。2004年成立北京公社,冷林同时执掌佩斯北京画廊,并于2014年在香港中环设立佩斯香港空间。 北京公社创办人,佩斯画廊合伙人,佩斯北京和佩斯香港总裁,也是艺术小组“政纯办”(POLIT-SHEER-FORM OFFICE) 成员,成员包括艺术家洪浩、萧昱、刘建华和宋冬。

 

宋冬

1966年生于中国北京。他从中国先锋艺术运动中脱颖而出,成为中国当代艺术发展中重要的艺术家。1989年,宋冬毕业于首都师范大学美术系油画专业。他从九十年代初开始从事行为、录像、装置、摄影、观念绘画和戏剧等多媒介的当代艺术创作,并参与策划当代艺术的展览和活动。 艺术形式横跨多个领域,对人类行为短暂性的观念进行了探索。 他的作品用东方智慧探讨生活与艺术的关系,具有国际影响力。

 

吴文光

1956年出生云南昆明。1974年中学毕业后到农村作为知识青年务农至1978年,1978年考入云南大学中文系,1982年至1985年在昆明三中和新疆尼勒克二牧场做教师,1985年至1989年在电视台做记者、编辑,1988年至今,作为独立制片人、作家和戏剧舞蹈剧场制作人居住北京,拍摄纪录片、写作和制作舞蹈剧场作品。2005年在北京创办草场地工作站。









姓名

立即订阅