Cao Chang Di Workstation: Folk Memory Project and Non-Fictional Creation

Speaker: Wu Wenguang

Time: November 28th, 2015 (Saturday)   2-3PM

Venue: OCAT Institute, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing (100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

 

Synopsis

In 2010, Folk Memory Documentary Project was initiated at CaoChangDi Workstation(aka.CCD Workstation. More than 20 people were involved in the project, where every one of them went back to their own village to interview the seniors about their experience and stories during the three years of the Chinese Famine between 1959 and 1961.

 

What can we memorize? How deep and how far will our memory last? There is no certain answers to these questions. Yet, it is certain that memory has its own value in this age when oblivion becomes habitual and common.

 

A group of people with DV cameras went all over the villages, visiting seniors living in rough and dark farmhouses, trying to document the memories buried deep in their mind. The villages they went back are the ones “relevant to themselves”. They were either born and raised there (some of them still live there, like villagers who worked as recorders; some of them were born there but went to cities for school and work). In other cases, their parents or ancestors were born and raised there, or they had some other connections to the village. Meanwhile, for those seniors, it was also the first time to have someone sitting seriously in front of them with a camera filming, waiting for their memory box to open and pour out stories from the distant past.

 

This is a meeting of two generations, a meeting of grandparents and grandchildren, with a whole generation in between. Or to put it in another way, a generation of memorial void was skipped over. Thus, it is bound to be an encounter, or a meeting full of wonders, where stories unexpected, frustrating, outside of the usual path, or with a turning point, came out one after another.

 

Participants of the Folk Memory Project include villagers, young fellows who are documentary directors, theater writers, or practitioners in other fields of art. They volunteered to go back to their villages to shoot interviews with seniors. While some of them are in their 60s, most were born in the 80s or 90s.

 

As time went by, more and more people joined the project. In the first year, there were 21 people who participated.  Until now (April, 2014), there are 133 participants in total, with a number of 1220 seniors interviewed in 246 villages from 20 provinces.  36 documentaries were made by 12 authors.

 

Wu Wenguang

Wu was born in 1956 in Kunming, Yunnan. After graduated junior high school in 1974, he went to the countryside as an urban educated youth to do agricultural works until 1978, when he was accepted into the Department of Chinese, Yunnan University. From 1982 to 1985, he was a teacher at Kunming No.3 Secondary School and Xinjiang Nilka County No.2 Pasture. Between 1985 and 1989, he worked as a reporter and editor at a TV station. He has been living and working in Beijing as an independent producer, writer, and dance theater producer since 1988.He shoots documentaries in the field, also writes and produces dance theater works. In 2005, he founded CaoChangDi Workstation in Beijing.

  



Performance

Theater: Still of Self-Portrait: Dancing at 47 KM

 

Self-Portrait: Dancing at 47 KM

Director, performer: Zhang Mengqi

Time: November 28th (Saturday)   3:30-4:30 pm

Venue: OCAT Institute, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing ( 100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

 

About Theater: Still of Self-Portrait: Dancing at 47 KM 

 

“47 Kilometer” is the name I gave to a village. Located among the hills of Suizhou, Hubei, it is the birthplace of my father. In the 80s, he left the village in his twenties, whereas my grandfather and uncles stayed there. In the summer of 2010, for the Folk Memory Project, I returned to this strange and remote village. Since then, I have been interviewing seniors and documenting their memory of the three years of the Chinese Famine.  There, I also created theater works. The memory of the seniors and the history of the village were woken up from the distant past, however, the village itself slips towards depression and oblivion as time passes by. It is as if I was standing at a crossroad, and that’s where my dance starts. 

 

About Zhang Mengqi

 

Zhang Mengqi was born in 1987. Graduated from College of Dance, Minzu University of China in 2008, Zhang is currently an independent dancer and filmmaker. Her theatrical works include Self-Portrait and Dialogue with My Mother z(2009), Self-Portrait and Sex Education for Myself (2010), Self-Portrait: Dancing at 47 KM (2012). Her works has been performed at Crossing Festival, CaoChangDi Workstation, OCAT Shenzhen Performance Season  (three times), Vienna International Dance Festival. Her documentary series “Self-Portrait”, which include Self-Portrait With Three Women (2010), Self-Portrait: At 47 KM (2011), Self-Portrait: Dancing at 47 KM (2012), Self-Portrait: Dreaming at 47 KM (2013), Self-Portrait: Building the Bridge at 47 KM (2014), Self-Portrait: Death at 47 KM (2015), was exhibited and screened at Yunnan Multi Culture Visual Festival(Kunming), China Independent Film Festival (Nanjing), Beijing Independent Film Festival (Songzhuang,Beijing), Beijing New Youth Film Festival, Dalian Independent Film Festival, Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival (Japan), Taiwan International Documentary Festival, Festival Cinéma du Réel (Paris), Festival Shadows (Paris), Tampere Film Festival (Finland), Across Asia Film Festival (Cagliari, Italy), as well as universities such as Duke University, Harvard University, New York University, University of Edinburgh, King's College London.

  

Discussion 

Time: 4:30 (after the performance)- 5:30pm









姓名

立即订阅

草场地工作站:民间记忆计划与非虚构创作

主讲人:吴文光

时间:2015年11月28日(周六)下午2:00-3:00

地点:北京朝阳区金蝉西路OCAT研究中心(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米)




讲座概要

2010年,一个叫“民间记忆影像计划”在草场地工作站开始,有20多个人卷入到这个计划中,他们分头返回到自己的村子,采访拍摄村子里的老人讲述1959年至1961年的“三年饥饿时期”的经历和故事。

 
我们能记忆到什么?我们的记忆能持续到多深或多远?如今不敢断言,但有一点是可以肯定的,就是在这个遗忘成为习惯成为风气的年代里,记忆有其价值。

 

 一群手持DV之人潜行于那些村子,探访那些深居于简陋昏暗农舍里的老人,试图记录下深藏于老人内心的记忆。这些手持DV之人回到的村子都是“和自己有关的”,或是出生并长大的村子(至今还在那里生活,比如村民作者;或已经离开,比如上大学或打工去到城里),或是自己的父母或祖辈生活的村子,或是跟自己的生活有过一段关系;而那些村子里的老人,也是头一次有人带着摄像机端坐在他们面前,等待他们打开记忆之盒,翻到出那些久远的往事。

 

这是祖孙两代人的相遇,中间相隔了整整一代人,或者说跨过了一代人的记忆空白。注定了,这也是一场遭遇,或者说奇遇,中间会有一些故事,预想不到的,不期而遇的,节外生枝的,倍感挫折的,柳暗花明的……等等。

 

参与民间记忆计划的人,除有村民作者外,还有从事纪录片、剧场或其它艺术创作的年轻作者及学生先后自愿“返回村子”拍摄采访,他们年长者过60岁,大部分是“80后”和“90后”。

 

这是一种雪球自然滚动方式。第一年有21人参与,之后陆续有更多人参与。截止现在(2014年4月),总共有133人在村或回村采访,被访人来自20个省、246个村子的1220个老人, 12个作者共创作36部纪录片。

 



吴文光
1956年出生云南昆明。1974年中学毕业后到农村作为知识青年务农至1978年,1978年考入云南大学中文系,1982年至1985年在昆明三中和新疆尼勒克二牧场做教师,1985年至1989年在电视台做记者、编辑,1988年至今,作为独立制片人、作家和戏剧舞蹈剧场制作人居住北京,拍摄纪录片、写作和制作舞蹈剧场作品。2005年在北京创办草场地工作站。

 

【表演】

剧场自画像:47公里跳舞剧照

自画像:47公里跳舞

创作、表演:章梦奇

时间:11月28日(周六)下午3:30-4:30

地点:北京朝阳区金蝉西路OCAT研究中心(地铁7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米)

 



作品简介

剧场自画像:47公里跳舞剧照

“47公里”是我为一个村子的命名。这个位于湖北随州丘陵中的小村子,是我父亲的出生地,八十年代他20多岁时离开,我爷爷和我父亲的兄弟还留在那里。2010年夏天,因为民间记忆计划,我返回这个对我非常陌生并遥远的村子,采访老人“三年饥饿”记忆并拍摄纪录片和创作剧场作品,持续至今。老人的记忆和村子的历史从沉睡中被唤醒,而置身的村子一年年走向萧条和被遗忘,我犹如站在一个十字路口,我的舞蹈由此开始。

 




创作者简介


章梦奇在村子采访

章梦奇,1987年出生,2008年毕业于中央民族大学舞蹈学院。现为自由舞者和独立影像作者。创作剧场作品《自画像及和母亲对话》(2009)、《自画像及自我性教育》(2010)、《自画像:47公里跳舞》(2012),作品曾演出于草场地交叉艺术节、深圳OCAT演出季(三届)、巴黎青年舞蹈家艺术节、维也纳舞蹈节。拍摄纪录片“自画像系列”:《自画像和三个女人》(2010)、《自画像:47公里》(2011)、《自画像:47公里跳舞》(2012)、《自画像:47公里做梦》(2013)、《自画像:47公里搭桥》(2014)、《自画像:47公里之死》(2015),曾参展放映于云之南影像展(昆明)、中国独立影像展(南京)、北京独立影展(宋庄)、北京新青年影像年度展、大连独立影展、山形国际纪录片电影节(日本)、台湾国际纪录片电影节、巴黎真实电影节、影子电影节(巴黎)、坦佩雷国际电影节(芬兰)、意大利卡利亚里亚洲电影节、美国杜克、哈佛、纽约大学等多所大学、英国爱丁堡大学、国王学院等。


 




讨论


时间:4:30(演出后)-5:30

姓名

立即订阅