In the Theatre of Visual Teaching: Aby Warburg’s in Image Montage in Experimental Atlas of Science and Art

Speaker: Uwe Fleckner

Time: September 19th, 2015  7-10PM

Venue: OCAT Institute, Jinchanxilu, Chaoyang District, Beijing (100 meters North from Subway Line 7, Happy Valley Scenic Area Station, Exit B)

Hosted by: OCAT Institute 

Co-Organizer: Center for Visual Studies, Peking University

Support: Beijing OCT

Language: English, with simultaneous interpretation in Chinese

 

With the support from the Center for Visual Studies in Peking University, the OCAT institute was very honoured to invite Uwe Fleckner, Chair of the 34th World Congress of Art History, Session 16 named “Commodity and Market”, Professor at the Department of Art History,  University of Hamburg, Director of the Warburg-Haus, to be one of the lecturers of the lecture series for the exhibition “Memory Burns”. His lecture is titled “In the Theatre of Visual Teaching: Aby Warburg’s Image Montage in Experimental Atlas of Science and Art”. In the past 30 years, Warburg’s research attracted increasing attentions, and his writings and practices have not only provided opportunities for art historians to reflect on the development of art history, but also exerted far-reaching influences on other fields, such as philosophy, anthropology, psychology and neuroscience.

 

The lecture consists of four sections, namely, “From Academic Reference to Image Demonstration”, “Atlas as Media for Knowledge Categorizing”, “Image Prose in Art Publication in Early 20th Century”, and “The Arguing Structure of Counterpoint and Polyphony”. The first section mainly revisits the trajectory of Warburg’s image practice, epitomized by his Mnemosyne Atlas. The second section examines the historical evolvement of ‘atlas’, as well as the atlas of empirical disciplines, i.e., geography, astrology, archaeology, philology, art history, etc…, that inspired Warburg.  Meanwhile, the lecture will also demonstrate the fundamental differences between these two types of atlas. The former is usually an accessory of a discipline or discourse, whose preexisting rules and evolvement principles prescribe both the image arrangement and image-text relation of the atlas. Warburg’s practice, on the contrary, established a unique visual logic of the atlas, by creating conflicts through the juxtaposition and comparison of images. In the third section, Uwe Fleckner will compare Warburg’s work to similar practices in art publication in the 20th century, which includes Der Blaue Reiter (The Blue Rider) (ed. Kandinsky and Franz Marc) , L'Esprit Nouveau (by Le Corbusier) ,and Documents (by Carl Einstein), and so on. Therefore, it reveals a common paradigmatic shift experienced in both art history research and modern art experiment. It has to be noted that the Nazis, who were against the Iconoclasm of Modernism, also took advantage of the montage techniques developed by their opponents.

 

The fourth section, taking the fifth plate from Mnemosyne Atlas as an approach, examines how pathfomel is embodied in the atlas in theme, arrangement, etc…. It also points out that Warburg’s image demonstration is also a de-monstration.  


Both erudite scholars in the research on Warburg, Uwe Fleckner and Georges Didi-Huberman, have a great number of academic viewpoints to communicate with.( For example, the former calls Warburg’s methods as didactics while the latter calls it heuristics.) More fundamentally, both strongly believe that Warburg’s resistance to the “empirical, idealistic or synoptic art history” opened up for the successors a new possibility of perception-thinking-formulating. Perhaps this is a contemporary answer to the question of how “atlas” upholds the world.

 

Guests: 

 

Uwe Fleckner

Uwe Fleckner (1961- ) studied art history, philosophy and German literature in Ruhr-University Bochum and University of Hamburg, where he received his doctorate with a dissertation on Anger’s image. From 1997 to 2002, while working as a teaching assistant at Free University of Berlin, he was also the deputy director of Centre allemand d’histoire de l’art, Paris. Since 2004, he has been professor of art history, and the director of the Warburg-Haus at the University of Hamburg. As a productive author, he has published an extensive number of articles and books on art and art theories of the 18th century. He also edited anthologies of Carl Einstein and Aby Warburg. In 2016, he was chosen as the Chair of 34th World Congress of Art History, Session 16 “Commodity and Market”. 

 

Peter Krieger

Professor at National Autonomous University of Mexico; Chair of 34th World Congress of Art History, Session 11, “Landscape and Spectacle” ; 

 

Teng Yuning

Deputy Director of Center for Visual Studies, Peking University; Junior Chair of 34th World Congress of Art History, Session 11, “Landscape and Spectacle”;

 

Guo Weiqi

Associate Professor, Director of Art History Department, Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts; 

 

Fan Baiding

Junior Chair of 34th World Congress of Art History, Session 21, “Connecting Art Histories and World Art”







姓名

立即订阅

在视觉教学的剧场中:阿比·瓦尔堡在科学与艺术实验图集间的图像蒙太奇

主讲人:傅无为(Uwe Fleckner)

时间:2015年9月19日 晚上7点至10点
地点:北京朝阳区金蝉西路7号线欢乐谷景区站B出口向北100米OCAT研究中心
主办:OCAT 研究中心
协办:北京大学视觉与图像研究中心
支持:北京华侨城实业有限公司

语言:英语,中文同声翻译

本次“记忆的灼痛“展览系列讲座在北京大学视觉与图像研究中心的大力支持下邀请到第34届世界艺术史大会第十六分会“商品与市场”主席、汉堡大学艺术史系教授、瓦尔堡档案馆馆长傅无为(Uwe Fleckner)教授,他带来的题目是“在视觉教学的剧场中:在科学图集与艺术实验之间的阿比·瓦尔堡的图像蒙太奇”。瓦尔堡研究在过去的30年中变得越发受人关注,其写作与实践不仅为艺术史提供了重审自身发展方向的契机,还在哲学、人类学、心理学、神经科学等领域产生了深远的影响。


讲座分为四个部分:“从学术参考到图像演示”、“作为知识分类之媒介的图集”、“20世纪初艺术出版中的图像散文”和“复调与多声部论证结构”。第一部分主要回顾瓦尔堡以《记忆女神图集》为代表的图像实践的发展历程。第二部分考察“图集”(Atlas)这一形式在历史中的演进和地理学、天象学、考古学、语文学、艺术史等实证式学科图集对瓦尔堡的启发,同时指出二者的本质性区别:前者往往是某一学科或话语的附属品,它无论从图像的排列还是图文关系上都遵守着该学科对其对象事先规定的秩序和演进原则;而瓦尔堡的实践则反其道而行之,通过图像的并置或对比制造冲突,建立了图集独有的视觉逻辑。在第三部分里,傅无为开始把瓦尔堡的工作与20世纪初艺术出版中出现的类似实践进行对比,后者包括康定斯基和弗朗茨·马尔克编辑的年鉴《蓝骑士》、勒·柯布西耶的《新精神》、卡尔·艾因斯坦的《文献》等等,从而揭示了一个艺术史研究和现代艺术实验共同经历的范式转化。不能不提的是,反对现代主义之反偶像主义特征的纳粹也利用了他们的反对者所发展的蒙太奇技法。

讲座的第四部分先以《记忆女神图集》图版5为进路,剖析“情念形式”是如何在选材、布局等层面体现在图集之中,并点明瓦尔堡的图像演示(demonstration)同时是一种去-混沌化(de-monstration) 。

同为瓦尔堡研究的硕学,傅无为和迪迪·于贝尔曼的学术观点有很多可相互借鉴的节点[比如前者把瓦尔堡的方法称为教学法(didactics),而后者则说启发法(heuristics)],更为根本的是,两人都坚信瓦尔堡对“实证主义的、理想主义的或概要的艺术史”的反抗为后来人打开了一种新的感知-思考-创制可能,或许这就是对阿特拉斯何以肩负世界的当代解答。

参与本次讲座讨论环节的嘉宾有:墨西哥国立自治大学教授 、第34届世界艺术史大会第十一分会“风景与奇观”主席Peter Krieger,北京大学视觉与图像研究中心副主任、第34届世界艺术史大会第十一分会“风景与奇观”青年主席滕宇宁,广州美院美术史系系主任郭伟其副教授,第34届世界艺术史大会第二十一分会“多元与世界”青年主席范白丁。


傅无为 (Uwe Fleckner)

傅无为(1961— )先后在波鸿大学、汉堡大学学习艺术史、哲学和日耳曼文学,并以关于安格尔的图像为题的论文被授予博士学位。1997—2002,他除了在柏林自由大学担任助教之外,同时担任位于巴黎的德国艺术史论坛副主席。自2004年起,他就职于汉堡大学艺术史教授席位,兼任位于汉堡大学的瓦尔堡档案馆(Warburg-Haus)馆长。他著述颇丰,出版了众多关于18世纪艺术和艺术理论的专著和论文,主编了卡尔·爱因斯坦和阿比·瓦尔堡的著作集。2016年担任第34届世界艺术史大会第十六分会“商品与市场”主席。



 





姓名

立即订阅