Short news | Changing Frontiers: Iconographic Archives in the Past and Present

The V&A’s the Chinese Iconography Thesaurus (CIT) project team and the OCAT Institute will be holding the conference titled Changing Frontiers: Iconographic Archives in the Past and Present at the University of Chicago Center in Beijing from 12th to 13th October, 2019.


Focusing on four specific examples of iconographic collections developed in Europe and North America during the last hundred years, the conference will explore the critical issues central to historical and contemporary practices in building image collections for iconographic studies. The conference will offer not only a series of different approaches and perspectives to the problems of iconographic collection building, but also an opportunity to observe historical connections and dynamic interactions between them. The speakers will include Pamela Patton, the Director of the Index of Medieval Art at Princeton University; Paul Taylor, the Curator of the Photographic Collection at the Warburg Institute; Hans Brandhorst, the Editor of the Iconographic Classification System (ICONCLASS) and Arkyves in Netherlands; and Zhang Hongxing, the Chief-Editor of the Chinese Iconographic Thesaurus (CIT) and Senior Curator of Chinese Collections at the Victoria and Albert Museum. Following each presentation there will be a discussion and Q&A session moderated by a Chinese scholar.


It is hoped that this public event focusing on Iconographic Collections will not only act as a platform for exchanging ideas and experiences on the subject between Western academics and Chinese students, scholars, and professionals, but also open up opportunities for future collaborations in the use and further development of iconographic collections in China, Europe, and North America.


About the Chinese Iconography Thesaurus at the V&A 

 

Chinese Iconography Thesaurus (CIT) project was launched by the Asian Department at V&A Museum in 2016. The CIT brings together sinology, art history, and information studies to create the first thesaurus of Chinese iconography. CIT aims to create an indexing standard that will facilitate access and inter-operability of Chinese digital images across collections. It will provide professionals in museums, libraries, and image archives with a controlled vocabulary that will improve the quality of cataloguing practices for Chinese collections. An online database of Chinese art images indexed with the CIT terminology will deliver a dynamic and open-ended research tool that will enable a wide spectrum of users to explore the contents of, and connections between, individual works of art. The CIT terminology will be released in autumn 2019 as an open-access and downloadable document, along with the image database that will contain objects from the V&A as well as The Metropolitan Museum in New York and The Palace Museum in Taipei and will feature browsing and search functions. The outcomes will be made available through the V&A website and a dedicated website hosted by Brill Academic Publishers.




姓名

立即订阅

简讯 | 变化的前沿:图像学文献库的过去与现在

英国国立维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆亚洲部“中国图像志索引典”(CIT)项目组和OCAT研究中心将于20191012日至13日在芝加哥大学北京中心共同举办“变化的前沿:图像志文献库的过去与现在”讲座及研讨会。


本次研讨会将以过去百年来欧洲和北美的四个图像志文献库为案例,深入探讨其建立的历史和当代实践过程中的诸多关键议题,不仅提供建构图像志文献库的不同取径和视点,也提供一个观察彼此之间历史联系和变化互动的机会。会议发言人包括普林斯顿大学“中世纪艺术索引”中心主任帕梅拉·巴顿(Pamela Patton)女士、瓦尔堡研究院“图片文献库”主任保罗·泰勒(Paul Taylor)先生、荷兰“图像志分类系统”(ICONCLASS)与“文化史图像数据库”(Arkyves)主编汉斯·布兰德霍斯特(Hans Brandhorst)先生,以及维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆“中国图像志索引典” 主编及中国艺术资深研究员张弘星先生。每场发言后,将由中方学者担任主持人展开评议和问答活动。


我们希冀本次以“图像志文献库”为主题的研讨会议不仅为国内外学者提供以此主题进行理念和经验交流的平台,也为中国、欧洲和北美的图像文献库的使用和进一步发展开拓未来的合作机会。

 

关于“中国图像志索引典”项目

中国图像志索引典(CIT)项目由英国国立维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆亚洲部于2016年启动。它汇集汉学、艺术史与信息研究,是欧美学界首次针对中国艺术图像进行分类的方案。CIT旨在创建一种标引准则,为博物馆、图书馆与图像档案库的专业人士提供一套受控词表,从而提高馆藏中国文物编目的质量,促进中国数字图像跨收藏的信息获取及相互关联。CIT还包括一个使用CIT词表标引的中国艺术图像线上资料库,方便广大的用户群体探索各个艺术品的内容及其之间的联系。作为开放存取与下载的文件,CIT将于2019年秋季上线,其图像资料库包含来自伦敦维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆、纽约大都会艺术博物馆以及台北故宫博物院的藏品,可供浏览和检索。项目成果将于维多利亚与艾伯特博物馆的官网以及博睿学术出版社的专属网站上公开。



姓名

立即订阅