From Exhibition Histories Towards the Future Of Exhibition-Making

Speaker:Biljana Cirric

Time: 2019.06.14  16:00-18:00

Venue: OCAT Institute

Please Identify the follwing QR code to register


Following OCAT Institute’s opening of the Reading Room, a travelling part of the research-basedplatformFrom History of Exhibitions towards the Future of Exhibition Making,Biljana Ciric’s presentation willproceed from the recent assembly on exhibition histories hosted by Rockbund Art Museum(2018), with specific focus on artists-organized exhibitions as an active curatorial knowledge and itspublic moments.

What are the exhibition typologies that we have proposed and explored in the recent 20 years with the development of art system? What are the curatorial and artistic working methodologies that we have consolidated? Can we talk about them and what are the vocabularies? What and how can we revive the urgencies of artist-organized exhibitions nowtaken ashistory? Can we think of artist-as-curator today from different perspectives and what could be the roles of curator for today and the future?Theseare some of the questionsthat will beraised.

Ciric will discussLets Talk About Money- First International Fax Art Exhibition (1996) organized by group of artists and presented in Hua Shan Art School in Shanghai.Let’s Talk About Money-First International Fax Art Exhibition wasmodest in scale andserved as preface toanumber offollowingartists-organized exhibitionsthat experimented not only with its theme but its method and form.It is the first international artists-organized exhibitionthatexplores different ways of connectingsolitaryartistsacross the globe,making atradition of satellite exhibitions duringtheFirst Shanghai Biennial(1996). 

 

About The Speaker

BILJANA CIRIC is an independent curator.She was the co-curator of the 3rd Ural Industrial Biennale for Contemporary Art (Yekaterinburg, 2015), curator in residency at Kadist Art Foundation (Paris, 2015) and a research fellow at Henie Onstad Kunstsenter (Høvikodden, 2016). In 2013, Ciric initiated the seminar platform From a History of Exhibitions Towards a Future of Exhibition Making with focus of China and Southeast Asia. The first assembly platform was hosted by St Paul St Gallery, AUT, New Zealand and the second assembly with focus on the 90s was hosted by RAM in November 2018. She is currently working on the final assembly related to standardizations of exhibition making practice after 2000 ( to be held at Times Museum in 2019) as well as the publication related to this long term project that will be published by Sternberg Press. In 2018 she established the educational platform What Could/Should Curating Do. She was nominated for ICI Independent Vision Curatorial Award (2012).

 

AboutThe ResearchPlatform

From a History of Exhibitions Towards a Future of Exhibition-Making- China – Southeast Asia is result of ongoing assembly platforms with the same name, organized and initiated by Biljana Ciric and hosted by St Paul St Gallery AUT (2013), Rockbund Art Museum (2018) and Guang Dong Times Museum (2019). The assembliesexplore how exhibitions can be read and understood across different social and cultural contexts, highlighting differences within the region, whilst also inviting new approaches and methodologies to pin-point areas for comparative forms of research.

The book with the sametitle will be published bytheend of 2019 by Sternberg press. The book is edited by Ciric andcompiles research by different writers, curators, art practitioners in the region who took part intheassemblies.

 




姓名

立即订阅

艺术家作为策展人:展览的历史与能动性

主讲人:比利安娜·思瑞克(独立策展人)

 

6月14日16:00-18:00

 

地点:OCAT研究中心

 

请识别以下二维码预约报名

 

 

“阅览室”项目是“从展览的历史到展览制造的未来”研究平台的一部分,将于2019年6月8日起巡展至OCAT研究中心。比利安娜·思瑞克的此次讲座将从上海外滩美术馆最近主办的有关展览历史的集会(2018)出发,重点关注艺术家组织的展览作为一种活跃的策展知识,及其展示在公众面前的历史时刻。

 

在过去的20年间,随着艺术机制的发展,我们提出并探索的展览类型学有哪些?我们整理并巩固的策展与艺术创作的方法论有哪些?我们是否能够谈论它们,又要使用哪些词汇?我们该如何重新激活已然被视为历史的艺术家组织的展览?我们今天能否从不同的视角来看待作为策展人的艺术家?当今和未来策展人的角色有哪些可能?这些将是讲座提出的部分问题。

 

思瑞克还将谈及由多名艺术家组织,在上海华山美校展出的“让我们谈谈钱——首届国际传真艺术展”(1996)。“让我们谈谈钱”的规模并不大,但为之后一系列艺术家组织的展览发了先声,这些展览不仅在主题上,也在方法和形式上都具有实验性。“让我们谈谈钱”这场艺术家组织的国际性展览也首次探索了以不同方式连线世界各地独立创作的艺术家们,以此在首届上海双年展(1996)期间开创了一种卫星式展览的传统。

 

讲座嘉宾

 

比利安娜·思瑞克是一名独立策展人。她曾任第三届乌拉尔当代艺术工业双年展联合策展人(叶卡婕林堡,2015),卡蒂斯特艺术基金会驻地策展人(巴黎,2015),海涅·斯塔艺术中心研究员(赫维科登, 2016)。2013年,思瑞克发起了以中国和东南亚为关注重心的研讨会平台“从展览的历史到展览制造的未来”。第一个集会由新西兰奥克兰圣保罗路美术馆主办,第二个集会以20世纪90年代为关注点,由上海外滩美术馆于2018年11月举办。目前,她正致力于筹备关于2000年后展览制造实践的标准化(将于2019年于时代美术馆举办)的最后一个集会,以及与此长期项目相关的出版工作。2018年,她创立了教育平台“策展能/该做什么”。她曾获ICI独立视野策展奖提名(2012)。

 

关于研究平台

 

“从展览的历史到展览制造的未来:1990年代中国及东南亚地区的策展实践阅览室” 源自持续进行中的一个同名集会平台,由比利安娜·思瑞克组织、发起,并由奥克兰圣保罗路画廊(2013)、上海外滩美术馆(2018)和广东时代美术馆(2019)主办。这些集会探索如何在多种社会和文化语境下阅读和理解展览,强调区域内的差异性,同时也欢迎以新的路径与方法在指定区域间展开比较研究。同名书籍将于2019年底由斯坦伯格出版社出版。该书由思瑞克主编,汇聚来自集会地的作家、策展人和艺术从业者的研究。




姓名

立即订阅