Artist Talks: Memory Corridor II

May 4th, 2019

14:00–15:00 Guest Speakers: Kurt Tong, Yang Yuanyuan, Hu Wei

15:00–15:30 Artists Panel

Venue: Auditorium, 1st Floor, OCAT Institute


Please scan the following QR code to register


In this second installment of Artist Talks, three artists share their recent practices in photography and video. Through collecting documents and materials, Yang Yuanyuan uncovers particular events and past histories. Yang’s practice integrates a myriad of images and texts, including photographs and writings. Other found materials like movies and literature are also featured in her artistic practice as a way of blending the fictional and the real. Kurt Tong’s early works mainly used photography to explore individuals’ experience across changing times. Tong’s more recent works still keep to the nature of photography, while also include elements of installation and sculptureas an attempt to traverse the boundaries of media. Hu Wei’s latest piece Proposal for Public Assembly/Encounter explores the production and delivery of imagesat the intersection of  political seriousness, mass entertainment, and consumerism.



About the speakers


Kurt Tong,Born in Hong Kong in 1977, Kurt became a full-time photographer in 2003. He was the winner of the Luis Valtuena International Humanitarian Photography Award with his first picture story documenting the treatment of disabled children in India. He worked for many other NGOs and covered stories from Female Infanticide to ballroom dancers. He gained his Master’s in documentary photography at the LCC in 2006 and began working on much more personal projects exploring his Chinese roots and understanding of his motherland. In Case it Rains in Heaven, exploring the practice of Chinese funeral offerings, has been widely exhibited including a solo exhibition at Compton Verney and features in several public collections. A monograph of the work was published by Kehrer Verlag in 2011. The Queen, The Chairman and I, which reconnected the artist with his Chinese roots, is a multilayered narrative book dealing with the story of Hong Kong of the last 100 years and the Asian Diaspora through the lives of his own family, is presented as a Chinese teahouse. The project has been exhibited across 4 continents, including the Victoria Museum in Liverpool, UK; Galleri Image in Denmark; the Visual Art Center at the Chinese Cultural Foundation of San Francisco; Impressions Gallery in Bradford. The work made its China debut at the Lianzhou Photography Museum in 2018. The monograph will be co-published by Dewi Lewis Publishing and Lianzhou Musuem of Photography in 2019. Much of Kurt’s recent work incorporates elements of installation and sculptural, pushing the boundaries of the medium.


Yang Yuanyuan (b.1989) is an artist based in Beijing, China. Yang received a BA (hons) in photography at the University of the Arts London in 2013. By experimenting with different ways of visual storytelling, she creates narratives where facts and fiction coexist to explore intersections between the individual and the collective memories. Most of her projects begin with investigating various sources of archives and are closely related to particular local histories. Yang’s work spans photography, text, video, installation, artist books and performance. These mediums intertwine with each other within her projects through different methodology.


Hu Wei is a Beijing-based artist. He received his Bachelor’s degree in Drawing from the Central Academy of Fine Arts in 2012 and his Master’s degree from the Dutch Art Institute in 2016. He uses video, installation, photography, performance, writing, and other types of media in his practice. His works attempt to build a dialectical relationship between reality (“non-artistic expression”) and the “artistic narrative.” In observing the connections between social reality and individual distinctiveness, his recent practice pays close attention to the correlation between labor (physical and mental) and capital, inquiring into the possibility of mediation or the lack there of between technology and humans, as well as the implied relationship between politics, economics, and ethics. He is also interested in the reality and fabrication of the individual within history and memory, using pseudo-fictive methods to express a certain critical and imaginary towards present and future politics. 




 

姓名

立即订阅

艺术家分享会:记忆回廊II

2019年5月4日


14:00-15:00

讲座嘉宾:唐景锋、杨圆圆、胡伟

15:00-15:30

艺术家圆桌讨论


地点:OCAT研究中心展厅一层报告厅


请识别二维码报名

 

艺术家分享会第二回将由三位以摄影、录像作为主要创作媒介的艺术家分享他们近期的实践。杨圆圆常通过搜集的文献与资料为入口来发掘特定的事件或过去的历史,她的创作通常包含多种图像与文字:比如摄影创作与写作,同时结合其他既有素材如电影及文学著作,将虚构与现实混合起来。唐景锋的早期创作主要通过摄影来探索时代迁移中的个体经验,新近作品保留摄影的本质之余,同时在实践中融合装置和雕塑的元素,尝试超越不同媒介的界限。胡伟在最新作品《为公共集会(邂逅)的提案》中,探索了一种介于政治严肃性、大众娱乐和消费功能的中间地带的图像的制造与书写方式。


嘉宾简介

唐景锋


 1977年生于香港,在2003年始投身全职摄影师。他凭其首辑拍摄印度伤健儿童的专题相片夺得Luis Valtuena International Humanitarian Photography Award。及后致力与不同的非政府组织合作,题材涵盖了由女婴杀害到国际交际舞比赛等多种内容。他于2006年取得伦敦传媒学院纪实摄影硕士学位,并开始由其华裔及家族背景取得灵感,创作个人作品。《倘若天堂会下雨》探讨中国纸扎祭品传统,曾多次公开展出,包括在Compton Verney举办的个展。该作品被多个公共机构收藏,并由Kehrer Verlag于2011年结集出版。在作品《女王,主席与我》中,他重访自身的根源,用视像故事书为形式,以其家族历史探讨香港及亚洲过去百年的离散史。该项目以传统中式茶居展示,并于四大洲巡回展出,包括英国利物浦大学的维多利亚博物馆,丹麦Galleri Image和旧金山中华文化基金会视觉艺术中心与英国布拉德福德Impressions Gallery。该作品的中国首展于2018年在连州摄影博物馆推出。该作品的艺术家书将于2019年由Dewi Lewis Publishing和连州摄影博物馆出版。唐景锋新近作品保留摄影的本质之余,同时在实践中融合装置和雕塑的元素,尝试超越不同媒介的界限。


杨圆圆


 1989年生于北京,于2013年获得伦敦艺术大学摄影本科学位,目前工作居住于北京。她热衷于探索视觉叙事的可能性,将真实与虚构的元素结合,围绕探讨记忆与历史等话题展开创作。通常在开始一个项目时,她会在城市中根据特定线索进行广泛调研。杨形容自己的工作方式为“编织”: 在作品中构建一张多种图像与文本共生的繁复结构。她的实践包括多样的媒介,以摄影为主,同时跨越文字、录像、表演等形式。项目最终的呈现形式有时在书本里,有时在展览中,有时二者兼有。


胡伟


 生活工作于北京。2012年毕业于中央美术学院绘画专业,2016年毕业于荷兰艺术学院(Dutch Art Institute)并获硕士学位。他使用包括录像、装置、摄影、表演以及写作等多种媒介进行艺术实践。作品试图在外部现实(非艺术化的表达)与“艺术叙述”之间建立起可思辨的联系。结合对个体特性以及社会现实的观察,他现阶段的创作一方面会关注劳动(体力和脑力)和资本的权利关系,试图探讨技术与人的调解或不可调的现象以及其中的政治经济、道德关系。另一方面他感兴趣个体在历史和记忆中的真实性和虚构性,常用半虚构的方式表达某种对当下和未来的政治想象和批判。




姓名

立即订阅