Screening & Conversation | ABY WARBURG: METAMORPHOSIS AND MEMORY

Language: English (without subtitles)

Speakers: Wang Mingnan, Yang Beichen

Time:2018.12.16  15:00-17:00

Venue: OCAT Institute


This is a free event. Please register with us by sending “1216+name+email” to the OCAT Institute WeChat platform. Reservation is successful upon completion.  



The exhibition “Metapictures” is curated by the OCAT Institute’s 2018 scholar of the year, W.J.T Mitchell. It presents an incomplete but open set of images and texts mainly drawn from Western arts and sciences. Reflecting on the role of images from Plato to Deleuze, on the definition of media from Aristotle to McLuhan, and on the exhibition practices from Warburg to Malraux, “Metapictures” leads the audience into a labyrinth of concepts built upon various fields of knowledge, all of which attempt to understand the role of images in human affairs.


The OCAT Institute will be screening the documentary “Aby Warburg: Metamorphosis and Memory” on 16 December. Yang Beichen, scholar in contemporary art and film studies, and Wang Mingnan, art historian and researcher in museum studies, will be invited for a discussion with the audience after the screening.


Seismographs record underground movements that cannot be seen nor sensed. George Didi-Huberman, in L’Image survivante, revisits Warburg’s analogy of "seismograph", which compares historians to the “receivers” and “capturers” of historical life (geschichtliches Leben) -- the “mnemonic-waves” (mnemische Wellen). Intersected by the historian-seismographer, the seismic waves transmitted exterior manifest his knowledge of the symptom, “pathology of time, while those transmitted to his own interior become experience of the symptom, “empathy of time.  This experience is a trial, as Warburg migrating between his own trembles and ruptures opens up the images and problematizes the registration of time.


"Atlas" may be a set of continuous moving-image – different images and their interval constitute a vaccillating montage system. As montage became a cinematic method of operation after its invention or prevalence, we can constantly encounter the logos and other various incarnations of "atlas" in artistic' creations. What exactly is the relationship between Warburg in the film and the "motion-image" he created? This documentary on Warburg may give us some form of an answer.


Synopsis



Aby Warburg: Metamorphosis and Memory


Director: Judith Wechsler 

Language: English (without subtitles)

Year: 2016

Duration: 59 min

The film is provided by the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), New York.



Aby Warburg, (1866-1929), an influential art historian, came from the renowned Warburg banking family of Hamburg, Germany. This documentary traces the development of Warburg's ideas in the context of his life and times and his personal struggle with depression and psychosis. From his early studies on the early Italian Renaissance to his ventures in the American Southwest observing Hopi and Zuni ritual dances in 1895, Warburg sought the legacy of ancient Greece in the images and symbols of cultures, which he followed through iconographic studies that he pioneered. He explored the nachleben (afterlife) of antiquity, the tentions between the rational and the irrational, between the secular and the religious. Warburg was plagued by mental problems, especially during the First World War, when his interest towards political propaganda and war photography intensified his illness and eventually led to his hospitalization. Following which, he returned to Hamburg and developed his project,Atlas Mnemosyne (the personification of Memory in Greek mythology,) which consists 1000 images arranged thematically, concerning memory, astrology and mythology, archaeology, survival of the ancient gods, vehicles of tradition, eruption of antiquity, the reemergence of classical antiquity at the moment, etc. This film also includes interviews with a number of academics from the UK, the United States and Germany.

 

About Speakers




YANG Beichen is a contemporary art and film studies scholar, who teaches at Dramatic Literature Department in Central Academy of Drama. He got his M.A. in University Paris Nanterre and his Ph.D. in Beijing Film Academy with a dissertation titled Film as Archive. He worked as senior editor at Artforum China since 2012. Yang is devoted himself to the interdisciplinary research between contemporary art and cinema through his curatorial practices, and his current research interests focus on the contemporary Moving-Image theory, Media Archaeology and New Materialism. His doctoral dissertation Film as Archive will be published soon.


WANG Mingnan is a scholar in art history and museum studies and a translator. She graduated from Beijing University, Sciences Po, École du Louvre. Among her translations are three works by Georges Didi-Huberman (under publication):The Surviving Image:Phantoms of Time and Time of Phantoms: Aby Warburg’s History of ArtImage,History, Poetry: Three Lectures on the Visual Arts of Eisenstein;Survival of the Fireflies.






姓名

立即订阅

阿比·瓦尔堡:变形与记忆

阿比·瓦尔堡:变形与记忆


影片语言:英语(无字幕)

嘉宾:王名南、杨北辰

时间:2018.12.16  15:00-17:00 

地点:OCAT研究中心


本次活动免费,预约方式:发送“1216+姓名+邮箱”至OCAT研究中心微信平台,发送即预约成功。


由OCAT研究中心2018年度学者W.J.T.米切尔策划的展览“元图像”呈现了一套主要源自西方艺术和科学、并不完整但开放的图像和文本。通过思考从柏拉图到德勒兹理论中图像的地位、从亚里士多德到麦克卢汉定义的媒介、从瓦尔堡到马尔罗式的展览实践,“元图像”这一展览引导观众进入一个由诸多领域的概念搭建而成的游戏迷宫,而这些概念都试图理解图像在人类活动中的作用。

 

OCAT研究中心于12月16日特别安排放映瓦尔堡纪录片《阿比·瓦尔堡:变形与记忆》,并邀请到当代艺术与电影研究者杨北辰和艺术史与博物馆研究者王名南于放映结束后与现场观众一同展开讨论。

 

“回忆自己的人生旅程,我的使命似乎就像一架心灵地震仪,在文化的分界线上工作[…]以了解生命充满张力的两端,一端是自然、本能、异教的能量,一端是条理的智识。” 

                                                                                                                     ——阿比·瓦尔堡(1923)

 

地震仪,记录那些不可见甚至不可感的地下运动。乔治·迪迪—于贝尔曼在《遗存的图像》中重拾瓦尔堡“地震仪”的自况,将历史学者比作历史生命——记忆之波——的接收者、截取者。震波向外传递,成为对时间的认知;震波向内传递,成为对时间的体验,与时间的共情。体验亦是考验,瓦尔堡在自身的震动与断裂之间,迁移、打开着对图像与时间的体认。

 

“图集”也许就是一部绵延的运动-影像作品——不同图片及其间隙构成了变奏的蒙太奇系统;或至少在其被发明或广为流传后逐渐成为了一种电影化的操作方法,我们不断可以在艺术家的创作中遭遇“图集”的逻辑或诸种化身。电影中的瓦尔堡与他创造的“电影”之间的关系到底为何?这部关于瓦尔堡的纪录片也许可以给予我们某种答案。


影片简介


《阿比·瓦尔堡:变形与记忆》

导演:朱迪思·韦克斯勒(Judith Wechsler)

语言:英语(无字幕)

年份:2016

时长:59分钟

影片由纽约现代艺术博物馆(MoMA)提供

  

阿比·瓦尔堡(1866-1929)是一位颇具影响力的艺术史家,出生于德国汉堡的犹太银行世家。这部纪录片追溯了瓦尔堡在其生活和时代背景下的思想发展以及他与抑郁症、精神病的斗争历程。从他早期的意大利文艺复兴研究到1895年对于美国西南部的霍皮人和祖尼人仪式舞蹈的探索,瓦尔堡在文化图像和符号中探求古希腊的遗产,并开创了图像学研究。他探索了文艺复兴绘画中古典的遗存,以及理性与非理性、世俗与宗教的冲突。瓦尔堡一直饱受精神问题的困扰,特别是第一次世界大战期间,他对政治宣传和战争摄影的研究情有独钟,其精神问题因而加剧,不得不入院接受治疗。此后,瓦尔堡重回汉堡,开始实施其宏伟的《记忆女神图集》计划,根据主题并置排列了1000幅图像,涉及记忆、占星术与神话、考古学、古代诸神的迁徙、古典的入侵、古典的再现以及当下的古典传统等。这部影片还包括对诸多来自英国、美国、德国的学者的采访。


对谈人介绍

 

杨北辰 

当代艺术与电影研究者,策展人,现任教于中央戏剧学院戏剧文学系。先后毕业于法国巴黎第十大学与北京电影学院,以论文《作为档案的电影》(Film as Archive)获得电影历史与理论博士学位;曾在《艺术论坛》(Artforum)中文网担任资深编辑一职多年。他长期致力于当代艺术与电影研究之间的跨领域工作,曾发起并策划多项运动-影像的展览与放映活动;目前主要从事当代运动-影像理论、媒体考古学与新物质主义方面的研究,其博士论文《作为档案的电影》即将付梓。

 

王名南  

艺术史-博物馆研究者、译者,毕业于北京大学、巴黎政治学院、卢浮宫学院。译作包括乔治·迪迪-于贝尔曼的三部著作(即出):《遗存的图像:阿比·瓦尔堡的艺术史与幽灵时间》、《图像·历史·诗歌:关于爱森斯坦视觉艺术的三场讲座》、《萤火虫之幸存》。




姓名

立即订阅