Peking in Thomas Child’s Lens – A Study on the Early Photographs of China

Keynote Speaker: Xu Jia’ning

Time: November 26th (Sunday) 2017, 2pm-4pm
Location: OCAT Institute

 

For Registration: This is a complimentary event. Please text “1126 + your name + phone number” to OCAT Institute WeChat account for register. Your register is automatically confirmed as your text is sent.

 

Thomas Child (1841-1898), a British photographer, came to Beijing/Peking in 1870 as an engineer for the Customs of Qing Empire. He was passionate about science and photography, and since his job in Peking mainly consisted of simple tasks, he had the opportunity to explore the city and its surrounding areas in his leisure time. He fell in love with this historical city almost instantly and started taking photos to record the things he wanted to capture. The predominant technique of producing photographs in this time period was called the “collodion process (wet plate processing)”, which was extremely complicated and required the photographers to be proficient in optics and chemistry. Nevertheless, Child took plenty of photographs, and he even expanded this hobby into a successful business. His works were considered of top-level at the time in terms of composition, light use, and the quality of printing.

 

The purpose of this event is to present the cityscape and the people of the 19th-century Peking through Thomas Child’s lens and the research on his works in Peking from 1870 to 1899, thereby examining the style and significance of these photographs. Meanwhile, this talk will also touch on the topics such as the spread of photography in China and the development of photography technology.

 

About the Speaker

Xu Jia’ning (徐家宁) is a photography and video historian, dedicated to the research and collection of Chinese historical photos and videos. He was a keynote speaker of Thaumatrope (西洋镜), a documentary of the history of Chinese photography. His publications include 1900, An American Photographer’s Chinese Photos Diary, Life in Beiyang, Aerial Photo of China, 1945, and he also translated Photo of China and Chinese people.

 

 


姓名

立即订阅

十九世纪的北京——托马斯·查尔德的影像档案研究

主讲人:徐家宁

时间:11月26日(周日)14:00-16:00

地点:OCAT研究中心

 

本活动免费,请发送“1126+姓名+电话”至OCAT研究中心微信公众平台进行预约,发送信息即视为预约成功

 

活动介绍


托马斯·查尔德(Thomas Child,1841-1898),英国摄影师,1870年受聘为大清海关的工程师而来到北京。他热衷科学,喜爱摄影,在北京的工作对他来说非常轻松,因此他有大量的闲暇时间可以在北京城及周边游玩,很快他就爱上了这座历史悠久的古城,开始用照相机记录他所看到的十九世纪的北京城。在查尔德活跃的年代,主流的摄影工艺是玻璃湿版法,非常复杂,对摄影师的要求高,需要精通光学、化学等知识。尽管如此,查尔德仍然拍摄了大量的精彩照片,甚至把这门爱好拓展成了生意。他的摄影作品无论是从构图、光线运用、蛋白照片的印制水平来说,在当时都已达到很高的水平。


本次活动即通过对托马斯·查尔德及其1870-1889年于北京所摄照片的研究,展示十九世纪北京的风景与人物,兼谈其摄影风格及作品的意义,同时介绍当时摄影术在中国的传播,以及摄影技术的发展。


主讲人介绍


徐家宁,历史影像学者,长期从事中国历史影像的研究与收藏,曾任介绍中国摄影史的纪录片《西洋镜》主讲人。主要著作有《1900,美国摄影师的中国照片日记》、《北洋岁月》、《航拍中国,1945》等,译著有《中国与中国人影像》等。





姓名

立即订阅