Reinterpretation: German Artists in Moving Images

08/01/2017 — 19/02/2017

Curator: James Hu

Artists:Werner Kruger 


This exhibition is co-organized by OCAT Institute and Goethe Institut (Hong Kong) .


This exhibition presents eight German films from the permanent collection of the Goethe-Institut Hong Kong. These works feature world-renowned German artists, including Joseph Beuys (1921 - 1986), Christoph Schlingensief (1960 - 2010), Otto Piene (1928 - 2014), Lutz Dammbeck (1928 - ), Jörg Immendorff (1945 - 2007), Gerhard Richter (1932 - ), Bernd (1931 - 2007) and Hilla Becher (1934 - 2015) , and Ulrike Ottinger (1942 - ). Despite the difference in media, artistic concepts, and means of expression, they exemplified a generation of collective endeavor to rethink the role of art and artists in the reflection upon and response to the social condition of postwar Germany.


The films were made at various stages of artists’ lives. Some captured live actions of artists at work in and out of their studios, while others retraced the trajectory of their artistic development, weaving personal interviews with archival footages. The production teams worked closely with the artists and recorded their everyday life and creative process. The result is a series of lively portraits presented in filmic form. 


In their 1934 Legend, Myth, and Magic in the Image of Artist, the Austrian art historians Ernst Kris and Otto Kurz unpicked narrative tropes and models prevalent in premodern writings of artist biographies. The collective perception of artist, they contend, is always mediated by the writing and transmission of stories and legends. From this perspective, the reexamination of the notion of artist in modern art history paralleled avant-garde redefinitions of artist’s role in the active transformation of modern society. The myth of artists who, as extraordinary individuals, depict the objective reality and delve deep into the collective psyche has since been profoundly challenged. With the image of artist constantly constructed and deconstructed, the tyranny of capital and marketization threatens to dissolve the actual momentum of artistic practices in their exploration of a true vision of the world and humanity. The social perception of contemporary artists has lost its steady focus.


If revisiting premodern lives of artists helps to clarify a historical understanding of their images, the close observation of the cinematic lens serves as a perfect medium for our interrogation of their fate in the contemporary world. The exhibition invites the audience to witness the intellectual formation and personal genealogies of individual artists during a critical period of historical and cultural change in Germany. Their struggle to reclaim their identity and position as artists provides important reference for our reinterpretation of many artists’ legends to come.    


James Hu

 

Preface(PDF)

Film Synopsis(PDF)










姓名

立即订阅

德国影像:艺术家的传奇

展期:2017年1月8日至2月19日 

策展人:胡震

参展艺术家:

维尔纳·克鲁格 | 西比勒·达伦多夫 | 汉斯·艾默林 

卢茨·丹姆贝克 | 赖内·奥斯滕多夫 | 科琳娜·贝尔茨

玛丽安·卡普夫 | 布里吉特·克雷默


本展览由OCAT研究中心与歌德学院(香港)共同主办。


策展前言:

本次展出的八部德国影像作品均来自歌德学院(香港)的永久收藏,表现的对象都是在世界艺术史上享有盛名的德国艺术家——约瑟夫·博伊斯(1921—1986)、克里斯托弗·施林格塞夫(1960—2010)、奥托·皮纳(1928—2014)、卢茨·丹姆贝克(1928—)、约尔格·伊门多夫(1945—2007)、格哈德·里希特(1932—)、贝恩德(1931—2007)和希拉·贝歇尔(1934—2015),和乌尔里克·奥廷格(1942—)。他(她)们的艺术理念不同,创作媒介和表现手法各异,但其艺术创作都显示出对二战后德国社会状况的积极反思。


这些影像拍摄于艺术家人生的不同阶段,或实时记录创作者在画室内外的工作状态,或通过对话采访以及档案材料的整理回溯艺术家的创作历程。影片工作团队近距离观察和记录艺术家的日常生活和创作,用影像语言呈现了一个个饱满的艺术家形象。


奥地利艺术史家恩斯特·克里斯和奥托·库尔茨合著于1934年的《艺术家的传奇》通过剖析前现代时期艺术家传记传统中的诸多叙事元素及模型,指明了人们对艺术家形象的认知并不独立于文本的撰写与传播而存在。在这一点上,现代艺术史对“艺术家”概念的再审视与先锋艺术家在现代社会中身份定位的转变在历史上是同步的。所谓艺术家,曾经被认为是描摹现实和观照心灵的独特个体,是具有超前理念的天才和神话。然而,当艺术家的神话被不断建构和解构,而资本与市场的效应时刻消解着以艺术实践探求世界真相、揭示人性本质的动力时,社会大众对艺术家的认知也在变得越发模糊不清。


倘若重拾前现代艺术家传记文本有助于澄清对艺术家形象的历史认知,电影镜头的追踪记录则构成了我们审视艺术家当代形象的恰当媒介。观看这些纪录片不仅指引我们深入探讨艺术家们思想形成的轨迹和个人谱系的建立,也为我们反思德国历史和文化,重新确立艺术家的身份和地位,理性解读新的艺术家传奇提供了有益的参照。


胡震



展览前言 Preface(PDF)

展览作品介绍 Film Synopsis(PDF)





姓名

立即订阅